Moar Backyard Homesteading Adventures (cherry tree and woven trellis)

in #gardening7 years ago

This tree has history; my kids were eating cherries outside, flicking the pits where ever. One landed in a pot, where it lived through late summer, autumn and winter, before springing forth with a taproot. I noticed this, and properly transplanted the tree into a pot.

It's about five years old, and last spring (before it got planted in my parents backyard) it popped our a single bloom. I need to prune the beast, but it's been loving it's fish emulsion and super thrive.

KIMG0339.jpg

The two 4 X 4 posts held a hammock, but my dad thought they were too close together to make it a comfy hammock, so my mom suggested I weave a support for cukes/tomatoes/pole beans/cantaloupe to climb.

The topmost line is paracord, but the main part is jute.

KIMG0338.jpg

The lemon cukes are especially loving the vegetable jungle gym, although they didn't like the amount of super thrive in the fertilizar... They got a wee bit burned :(

KIMG0335.jpg

My winter squash contribution (butternut) to the garden is picking up steam, might be the soaker hose proximity...

KIMG0333.jpg

All in all, it's coming along nicely!

Sort:  

Clever re-purposing on the posts. Great idea! Cool story behind the cherry tree, too. That can be passed down through the years.

My son is looking forward to the cherries. This last winter, he was searching for any potential flower buds. He was bummed when there wasn't any to be see. Hopefully this next year it is fruitful.

I'll keep my fingers crossed for him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75