Backyard Homesteading Adventures (Turning Dogs Into Hippies)

in #gardening7 years ago

That's what I told my father; that I was turning his dog into a hippie. He looked at me with a WTF expression on his face before I clarified my statement.

I was plucking the sprouting wheat out of the bales and feeding them to the dog, hence, I was feeding his dog wheatgrass, as if he were a hippie in line at Jamba Juice. Couldn't bring myself to refer to the dog as a hipster, despite the facial hair.

So, it's a good sign that the seed heads left in the bales have germinated; means the bales weren't treated with herbicides to combat weeds grown in the field. We know it's wheat because the seed (and root system) were attached when plucking from the bale. I know for certain its not grass seed from the compost pile because it's been sprouting out the sides of the bale, too. I'm okay with plucking the sprouts. Can be tedious, but the decomposing remains will make the growing medium just that much better. Plus unexpected dog treats.

Sort:  

Good post, thank you.

Note the tree hug and the visible neck beard.


facelifeandrise.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/dog.treehug.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72