You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five ways to make compost and build soil

in #gardening7 years ago

Wonderful tips Pennsif! I love that big sycamore tree, how beautiful. The most interesting part was that you grew beautiful potatoes in rotting leaves, that's amazing and we will have to try that!

Sort:  

Hi Lyndsay, according to my great aunts who lived in the house until the 1950s, there were originally three of these great big sycamores in front of the house. But I believe they sold two of them to a furniture maker to raise some cash.

I was surprised how well the potatoes did. I think the leaf mold was so nutrient rich and soft the potatoes thrived. Also there had never been any potatoes there before so no risk of blight.

And the coolest thing with growing them this way was that when it came to harvest time I didn't have to dig. I just wriggled my hand about in the leaf mold and pulled out the potatoes. A true no-dig potato growing method 😊

Oooh that's amazing, I would have loved to see the 3 trees together, would be a sight to see...

Just sheer brilliance with the potatoes...would open up a lot of my gardening space too doing that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66828.88
ETH 3113.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75