Let the Gardening Begin!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I enjoy gardening and I like the idea of adding some self-sufficiency to our lives. Also I prefer to minimize the excessive insecticides and fertilizers we consume. When you grow your own, you can go organic!

IMG_2322.jpg

So for my birthday, my husband got me a greenhouse, the objective is to extend the growing season. I'm hoping we can keep things growing a bit longer. Here's the greenhouse:

greenhouse-nj-6.jpg


Just joking but it really did come in two flat boxes weighing about 65 lbs each. So we began putting this thing together. The directions (37 steps with no words, just pictures) indicated it would take 2 people about 5 hours. Ha Ha! We are 2 people but it took about 10+ hours with a few days in between to wait for rain. But at the end of the day(s) we had a wonderful greenhouse to start the spring sprouting.


A few pics of the greenhouse construction:

greenhouse-nj-5.jpg


greenhouse-nj-8.jpg


greenhouse-nj-11.jpg


The greenhouse roof rain runoff is captured in a few buckets and watering cans, great for watering all the veggies and flowers

greenhouse-nj-13.jpg

Additionally we have a small (8' x 24') gardening bed we've been planting the last several years

greenhouse-nj-2.jpg


After some time with a pitchfork, the bed is ready to plant

IMG_2292.jpg


Its still a bit risky to plant outside so we'll be waiting another week or so but we did start in the greenhouse already

IMG_2289.jpg

IMG_2306.jpg

IMG_2310.jpg

IMG_2301.jpg


And some herbs started back from last season: Rosemary, Oregano, Thyme

IMG_2298.jpg

IMG_2299.jpg

IMG_2297.jpg

Mint, Mint and more Mint
IMG_2319.jpg


I'll post updates as season and the garden progress. Here's to a bountiful harvest!!

Thanks for stopping by! All images @lrich: (iphone and Canon EOS Rebel)

Sort:  

The greenhouse is awesome... what a great way to get an early start to the spring planting season. Up-voted 😁

GREAT post. Thanks for all the photos. When you prep, you are taking responsibility, and you will reap what you sow, and I hope you harvest a lot.

Thanks @janiko ! I sure hope so. I started planting in the bed now, I'll probably do an update on the weekend. Its a lot of work but I do enjoy it.

Really cool! Where did you get the greenhouse if I may ask? I've always loved them but have never maintained one... maybe that day should be in the near future! Looks good :)

thanks @kiaraantonoviche We purchased it on Amazon but I did see it on other websites. Its called Palram Snap & Grow 6' Series Hobby Greenhouse. We got the 6x8 one. Just a heads up as I mentioned in the post, it was a time consuming assembly. One warning, definitely inventory the parts before you start. We had a couple of damaged and missing pieces but we called their customer service number (on the instructions) and they politely sent us all the needed parts pretty quickly. Its only been in my yard for a few weeks but "so far, so good". I'll follow you...post something if you ever decide to get a greenhouse

Thank you for the reply and for the tip! I will have to do a lot of research before I decide but hopefully one day in the future you will see a post about it!

I agree with not using chemicals. Plant some flowers amongst the vegetables to deter pests and attract the good bugs, use lots of compost, and mulch to save water.

I love the greenhouse! I got one from Harbor Freight...a 6x8 model and it is wonderful. Best of luck to you.

Keep on Growing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70