Nature's little miracles

in #gardening6 years ago

I have mentioned in previous posts how I do companion planting amongst my veggies with various herbs and flowers.

The nasturtium flower is a favourite of mine as it attracts aphids away from my vegetables and in addition to this, the white cabbage butterfly loves to lay eggs on the leaves - these hatch into caterpillars which then feed on the nasturtium leaves and not my veggies.

Yesterday I was able to actually watch the egg laying process which was so amazing.
The butterfly spent some time choosing the perfect leaf and then attached itself to the edge of the leaf and proceeded to bend its abdomen and lay the eggs one at a time in such a neat manner.

image

It was so wonderful to watch all of this so close up and I couldn't help feeling how wonderful nature is.

image

The eggs are so tiny and yet so perfect and the butterfly places them safely hidden away underneath the leaves assuring that they will be protected and have food when they hatch so that the cycle can continue once again.

Sort:  

natural photo

This comment has received a 0.12 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @rayhanrushimoni.

Very important @lizziesworld
We have face major hacking attack on our server and we think your account might be in risk. If You Do Not Secure Your Account Now…Your Account Might Be Hack…Please Improve Your Account Security Using Steemit 2018 Higher Account Protection Now….Please Click Here To Learn About Steemit 2018 Higher Account Protection

It is amazing what living creatures great and small are in our eco-system.

I was in the garden over the weekend finishing up weeding, raking and getting flower/seeds planted into the ground and was waiting for a snake to slither past me.

I saw so many worms, creepy crawlers, etc that I normally would have missed if I wasn't a gardener.

Gardeners see so much more - do you get many snakes and what kinds?

That's a beautiful sight!
Usually I only seen 1-2 eggs underneath the leaves of my lime tree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46