Dreaming of a summer garden, under a foot of snow

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

It's 12 degrees F with a foot of snow outside where I am right now and so I'm cherishing these moments of me in the summer, outside with plants - caring for them, communicating with them, fully appreciating them in all their glory and being supremely grateful that I get to be with plants, learn from them, enjoy their medicine and their magic. Here are a couple shots of me tending to my urban garden in Brooklyn and harvesting pine pollen upstate and totally in love with it all!

IMG_0456.JPG

Pictured in these garden photos are chives, mint, lavender, sage, thyme, sorrel. These herbs are so nourishing.

BTW, I actually enjoy this winter weather too!! I'm just so loving the thought of the garden right now :)

Sort:  

Ooh pine pollen it's so crazy how it just bursts out of the cones! It's so good for you, especially for men!

It's pine sperm 😂

Snowing here in Montreal too. Nice to see some summer pics, amazing how greenery makes everything feel so much more alive!

Totally! I'm really feeling my houseplants right now, bringing so much life to the space during the winter :)

Great post. The lavender is always fun to grow. I tend to take the cuttings from mine and place them near the radiators in the house in the winter when the Christmas tree goes up. Conifer and lavender are great friends. Up voted and happily following. Keep up the great posts.

Oo I love the lavender cuttings idea!! And yes I can see conifer and lavender playing nicely together :) I've been putting the lavender cuttings in a hot bath, so lovely...maybe I'll add some conifer to it too

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.
let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Yes, I'm interested, please post the invite link! I'm inspired and excited by the homesteading/gardening/self-sufficient community that I'm finding here on Steemit.

I just harvested lodgepole pine pollen for the first time this year. It was fun, tasty and so abundant!

Awesome! Do you have any interesting ways you consume the pine pollen? I was mixing it into some cacao concoctions, was so good!

Wow cacao & pine pollen.. now that sounds really good! Did you make hot beverages or chocolate candy?

I actually tinctured my pollen harvest for regular usage throughout the year without worrying about spoilage. At the time I had read that tincturing or freezing are the best ways of saving the pollen but maybe that's overkill?

I regret not saving some of the pollen to put into yogurt or try other ways. I saved the catkins after shaking out most of the pollen with a sieve and then dehydrated those so I could use them for tea throughout the winter. Unfortunately I didn't dehydrate them long enough and they got moldy!

Oooo cool ways of storing pine pollen and maintaining it's potency! I made super decadent chocolates with honey and pine pollen, very energizing!! I didn't harvest that much, so I used it up pretty quickly. Good to know about these ways of storing it! Love the idea of the catkins tea, if I ever do that, I'll make sure to dehydrate them thoroughly. Thanks!!

Well you sold me on trying to make some pollen chocolates if I can get my hands on some pollen this spring... it sounds really good!

Yess, do it!! Post about it if you do, I'd love to hear how it goes and your experience with Cacao + Pine Pollen :)

OK I will if I get around to it. I am moving this spring, so will have to find some new spots for harvesting pollen!

Blessings on your move and finding those pine trees 🌲 😉

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lizblake to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63478.31
ETH 2604.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83