Lily's Succulent Zen Garden: Growing Plants Just Because They're Pretty

in #gardening7 years ago

Today I started what I'm calling my little succulent zen garden. Tequila trampled through my previous setup and nearly killed everything, so I decided it was time to put it all in one spot, out of the way in a way that's appealing to me. These plants (save for the aloe) aren't very useful for anything other than aesthetics...which I'm finding is actually pretty important.

This is about how I felt when I noticed my zen garden trampled. At the same time, there was a huge puddle of pee in the middle of the house because Tequila was on strike, as the weather was wet and the weeds have been growing tall where she usually uses the restroom.

This is the salvaged mess...it looked a lot worse and honestly I wish I would have taken a picture of the scene.

So I got them a sturdy container, lined it with cardboard and filled it with soil. Then came the fun part of arranging everything and planting it. Ah, here comes the zen part.

This is a new plant I had started from an old. These reproduce by clone easiest so just breaking a piece off and leaving it on top of moist soil will start a new plant, like the one you see here. This is what I did with many of the broken pieces.

I added aloe, a locally harvested plant that's probably the most useful thing in the whole garden.

Now I've got this cool little garden to tinker around with. I'll clone it and reproduce the varieties so I can sell them to my friends, like @modprobe.

All the cacti came from a mixed bag....of just that one variety. It was not as advertised but that's okay. The rest of the plants save for the aloe plant were purchased from Home Depot, one here and there until I got this collection. I've always liked the alien like quality of these plants. Seeing them crushed nearly crushed me, but seeing them in their new spot makes me happier than I was before.

Check out some of our other recent posts!

Acapulco Sunsets: July 29th, 2017 2
Acapulco Sunsets: July 29th, 2017 2
Year of Glass: Every Glass Post I've Shared...So Far

Sort:  

It's so pretty! I'd put little figurines in it if I ever got around to making one. That's interesting how easy it is to clone the plant.

I may make some little glass trinkets for this, thanks for the idea!

I think it's fascinating how plants can clone themselves so easily, especially succulents.

Awesome! You'll have to share it once they're complete. :)

I've never actually cloned any myself. With my luck they'd wither upon separation!

If you keep the soil moist they stay moist and sprout roots and eventually new growth. I didn't even try for the successful one shown in this post...it just taught me how easy it is so I'm trying it with several.

You should post progress shots of each one. I'm curious to see the outcome. I'll have to give it a try now! :)

I may take some shots today if more changes are visible!

Thank you for sharing with us! I hope you enjoy the upvote! i follow you,,,

Best of luck with your new little garden buddy :) , it's very beautiful.

If you like plants, check out my peppers:)
🔥🔥My Hot Peppers 🔥🔥

what a sweet setup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37