Fall Garden

in #gardening8 years ago

I’ve been having so much fun harvesting herbs from the garden that I wanted to share a few photos. Here’s my lunch today with some of the fresh picked herbs. There is oregano, green onion, parsley and clover. It is very easy to pick, wash off and eat from the garden and it adds a lot of flavor.

Here’s a close up of the clover growing in the garden - there’s another flower I might eat later. I’ve been munching on clover for some time, (hopefully it is edible), I don’t see it in the stores. (It doesn’t seem to hurt me any in the quantities I eat in any case)

Here’s an overview of the garden, you can see why I usually rinse the herbs on account of the type of things passing through (or in) the garden. It is not a large garden but I’m thinking of extending it some. The herbs grow year around but die back a bit in the winter. The mint has some sort of fungus issue or something, but keeps growing. I just eat the nice looking leaves. There is also thyme, sage, and chives.

The parsley and clover just take over and grow all around the yard. Clover adds some nitrogen to the grass and helps keep things looking greener. The parsley produces way more than my family cares to eat. The oregano also does really well and spreads easily. I got a small plant from the neighbor and it has produced great flavor for many dishes.

The onions were in the bottom of the refrigerator drawer starting to mold and it was either put them in the garden or the compost pile. I chose the garden and they perked right up and have grown faster than I can eat them. Rather than take the whole plant out I just break off a leaf and cut it up when I need it. They are much more tasty and juicy than onions that have been stored for a long time in the market.

There are a few weeds in the mix too; I occasionally eat the dandelions and the nettles that grow around the corner from the garden.

Here’s the potato patch - they were starting to sprout so it was either plant them or toss them in the compost. I don’t know if it will produce anything before the colder weather sets in but they look nice for now - I just stuck them in and forgot about them. Usually I plant potatoes in the spring and they die back mid summer from lack of watering. (My gardening skills are admittedly a bit lacking but I have fun anyway)

I was eating lunch and this bug kept crawling around the plate. I tossed it back in the garden after photography, so no worries, no bugs were harmed in the making of this blog post. Maybe the bug will have stories to tell of the adventure, “I kept walking and walking and all I saw was this enormous field of pure white light”.

Have fun everyone! Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41