There Is Mold On These Leaves! Getting Rid Of Mold On Squash.

20170828_110527.jpg

I went out to gather squash, and found the dreaded white powdery moldy squash leaves! No!

20170828_110531.jpg

It could have been that redwood fog or the fish emollition I used. (They need slow release fertilizers, fish emollition is quick.

20170828_110632.jpg

20170828_110658.jpg

But either way, the mold was here. I had been told that its a normal thing towards the end of season. So I researched on what to do. And one of the answers was not something I ever thought of putting in my garden.

20170828_115612.jpg

Milk.
Gross.
There was different ratios, I used 50 parts milk to 50 parts water in spary bottle and shake and spray the effected areas. The milk is supposed to have an enzyme in it that kills the mold. You have to spray it when the sun will beat down on it, and the combo is supposed to kill the mold spores and fix the problem.

20170828_121850.jpg

20170828_121910(0).jpg

Made the garden smell like warm milk, better that than mold.

I will update everyone next Monday, hopefully with happy squash news.

20170828_122432.jpg

Thanks for reading my blog, Have any of you had moldy squash leaves? How did you take care of it?

Sort:  

I'm so glad you figured out how to do this. I just thought I had to plan on having mold at the end of growing season. Looks like we can actually fight it. Awesome.

Squash are such a prolific producer in the garden they are worth the fight!

I am going to try this, I have mold on mine currently too -- I just noticed it yesterday. What a crazy garden year. ha

Totally crazy, we had so much water this spring its like it reset nature!

I know, here too. The whole season has just been "different", but, we learn through experience and a lot of stuff I'm going through via the homestead are new, challenging experiences.... it's all making me better and your and yours better.

Very true! What a wonderful journey we find ourselves on!

I really love every bit of it.

I will be interested to hear how this goes.

I have got the white mold on my pumpkins but as it is coming towards the end of the season I haven't worried about it.

If it came earlier I would probably try something like milk (as I don't want to use any chemicals).

From what I have read it works on pumpkin leaves too, I will let you know how it goes. I am always looking for non chemical solutions to my garden problems. Thanks for reading @pennsif!

Pretty sure this got my zukes. I was dusting with D.E. nearby and thought it was that, not mildew. Will be more vigilant next time.

Good luck with this treatment! Lots of us are anxiously awaiting the results...

Thanks @aunt-deb! I just looked at them and they are already looking better. I will keep you up to date.

Oh good! I'll add that trick to my toolkit for next time!

Just watered my squash this morning and most of the mold is gone! Reapplied. Thanks @aunt-deb!

That's very good news! I so glad you caught it early and the treatment is working. Thanks for sharing the outcome. This one is definitely going in the toolkit!

It might be best to remove leaves with a lot of mold, and treat the ones that aren't as heavily infected.

You are right, I left some of the leaves on just to see, and when the mold died the leaf was all yellow underneath and dead. I think it would have been best if the worst leaves where cut. Thanks for your helpful feedback @renodakota!

I have a friend with the same problem, I'm going to pass along your solution. Has it worked?

Your friend sounds super good looking and intelligent.

I worked great, remove worst leaves and re apply is key. Worked for me, thanks @process.improver!

If the milk doesn't work I swear by Organic Neem to fight Powdery Mildew. It works if you catch it early!

Thank you for the Neem oil trick! I had read that and wanted to try it but had none around the house. Thanks for reading @wholesomeroots!

I'm so curious to hear the result of this experiment. How great would that be if a milk spray actually works? I'm staying tuned.

So far so good @themerrylotus! I reapplied this morning while watering and most the mold was gone. Had a really hot day, got to bake the milk in. Thanks for reading!

I used the milk and water mixture once for a few plants' leaves that had become sunburned. It did work, but I haven't had an issue with mold (knock on wood) yet.

Awesome! So glad to hear from someone who tried it! Thank you.

It does seem to work, or at least for me. Good LUCK!

Next day, working great! Thanks @goldendawne! Nice to have a solution.

Congratulations @lifemovedbysteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55826.71
ETH 2298.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39