Composting Update

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

I am back for my compost update and it has been 7 days since I started collecting fallen leaves from our yard. Unfortunately it was not enough to fill multiple layers together with greens or nitrogen so I what I did is I dried up some pulled weeds from our yard to substitute the browns or carbon source. They said inorder for your compost not to stink is to have more source of browns and that is what I intended to do since I do not want neighbors complaining about my foul smelling trash anytime if that happens.

IMG_20180412_123815147.jpg

You know what? I never thought fallen leaves would make my eyes sparkle when I see them on the ground. When I see them scattered all over our yard before, it kinda pissed me off a bit because they keep on falling and I have to sweep them off countless times in a day. Now I have to constantly check our front yard if there are any so I could collect them for my compost. It does not only make me feel better, it makes me feel productive as well.

By the way, the photo above was taken last Friday morning(2nd day). I am 3/4 filling the wire bin now and most probably be filling it all tomorrow so it is a big Yay! I can't wait to start turning and mixing them all then. I just need few more days once it is filled. 👩‍🌾


@hr1

Sort:  

Leaves are a great source of rare minerals, so adding them to your compost apart of adding carbon enriches its composition!

true @conradino23! i love gathering them for my compost 😊

Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49