Goji Berry Plants and Garden Update 3 Vlog (with pictures)

in #gardening8 years ago

This is the third update on Goji Berry plants and raised garden bed and look I remembered to shoot in landscape this time. Hope you guys enjoy!


What I didn't get to show or tell you is that my dads' rabbits got in the goji berry area last week and ate some of the goji berry plants and left good portions of stems. I was a little worried at first seeing the damage but I remembered that I could use the cuttings to propagate new plants. So I quickly got the detached branches found whatever pots that were not in use dug some soil from back flower bed that doesn't have anything growing to fill the empty pots. After I cut the branches in a way that I got multiple stems from one or a series of branches in the hope of creating multiple plants.

Here are the results so far about a week later


  

As you can see there is already some new growth on at least two of the cuttings.

Though I wish the rabbits didn't cause this damage in the first place I am glad I was able to save the cuttings and create new plants!


Here are more pictures of the garden:


 

 

Thanks for watching and reading!! Keep on Steeming!!

Sort:  

Beautifull garden you have there @kepo777 , I like the photos too!

Thank you! Glad you like them!

Where do you live? zone?

My zone is 8b.

I'm in Oklahoma at 6b.

Goji berry plants can grow in zones 5-9 so if you were interested you could grow them in your area.

I actually had three planted from seed, but they all died.

I like it!

Papa approves!

Thanks @papa-pepper! Happy to have your approval!

That was kind of more of a joke, but basically it means that I like what you are up to.

Thanks!

I understand, I am so sarcastic at times some people think I serious but really I just want to have a good time. For me it's like a positive way of joking!

Your Goji Berries look good. I've had a plant for about four years, and it doesn't produce squat. When it does, the birds get them before I do.

Thank you! Sorry to hear that. I've heard people put tree netting to prevent birds from eating them. I also heard that birds are only interested in fruits like the goji or tomatos for their water content so if you put out water trays or bowls for the birds they will leave the fruits alone. I guess I've been lucky. Hope this information can help you. These plants are 2 years old and will be 3 in march of next year.

Thank you for the reply. Nets help, but we have had small birds get stuck in the netting, Squirrels used to bite our water lines in the summer years back. We added two ponds since and those issues went away. The Goji is a plant that apparently bares sparse fruit, where I live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36