You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self Sufficiency through a "Permaculture Food Forest"!!!!

in #gardening7 years ago

Great post. Although also, as opposed to camouflaging, one might like to let people know that it is food as contribution to increasing awareness and knowledge about urban agriculture and food growing and food security etc. Something that struck me as I looked at your photo with the imposed labels was that it would be cool to label plants with little signs with just that in mind. Thanks for the post! Have followed. Steem-on.

Sort:  

@Kate, I've thought about all of that!!!! My ultimate goal is to create an educational center of sorts. I live in Iowa, where nothing is grown, but corn, and soybeans. I would be very excited if I could convince just one or two local farmers, that they can replace that GMO corn with another system. A system that requires no "Inputs" in the form of fertilizers, diesel fuel, or weed killers. It's been shown that "Agroforestry" can produce as much as 3 times the calories as monoculture!!!!

Great. Of course one of the initial hurdles is that conventional farmers may well have very depleted soil following on from all their intensive relentless monocultures, so it would take a while for the soil fauna and organic matter to build up (of course there's ways to accelerate that). So I guess it's a bit hard to transition from one type to the other if you have a family to feed in the meantime, as it won't be 3 times immediately, it takes a while. I wonder what sort of NGO / governmental support programmes there are there?

I wonder would it be possible to get some land to make a model farm? Either donated privately are designated from public land.

Anyway, look forward to seeing some of your future steemit posts about your efforts!!

I have one acre of good soil.

Sounds like you might already have a plan :)

I have the plan..... I need the 20 year old body back lol.

Hmmmm, have a look at the website "workaway", maybe you can host some people to come and help you out with the manual labour in exchange for food and board if you have that capacity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44