My garden has started, the 1st Vegetable & Flower seeds are in. Its good to be back in the garden.

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

I started my garden today, i have been collecting what i will need over the last few months ready for today. I am doing the planting in intervals, i want to be able to use the Vegetables straight from the ground. Hubby went shopping with his mam so I could get my garden started. I had the labels wrote out already for today and the weather is lovely, the perfect day to start.

I Started with my egg shells, adding a little compost to 8 egg shells, i am doing these in weekly intervals, 2 - 3 weeks. The labels came in handy with putting the holes into the soil plus helped me scoop a few seeds out of the packets without me planting to many. I planted 2 of each to start off with.

Gardening 7.jpg

Vegetables:

2 Tomatoes Alicante,
2 Beetroot Boltardy,
2 Carrots,
2 Radish.

Gardening 8.jpg

I gave them a little water then got started on to my flowers. My 12 seed planting trays arrived yesterday, they were a pleasant surprise as i wasn't expecting them to be very good since i ordered them from Wish and they only cost me £1 each, they were the perfect size for me to start a few flowers off. I may order a few more.

I planted 6 of each flower:

Cornflowers, Polka Dot, Bee/Butterfly friendly
Cornflowers, Blue Boy, Bee/Butterfly friendly
Lavender, Hidcote Blue, Bee/Butterfly friendly
Sea of Blue, Mixed Annuals, Bee/Butterfly friendly.

Gardening 9.jpg

gardening 10.jpg

They are now sitting on my window sill.

I have bought a few garden bags instead of using pots, i bought 1 from Wish again not expecting anything special as it only cost me £1, i also bought 3 bags from Amazon for £17. I think i will order a few more from Wish as there bags will do me for a couple if years plus they have a flap that you lift up to see your Vegetables growing making it easier to see when they are ready.

Wish - Amazon

gardening 11.jpg

These bags are for the Vegetables, they are deep and wide, they should hold quite a few. I have enough bags for all my Vegetables, I also have all the pots I need for my flowers. There are 3 x 50 litres Of premium compost soil on order to be delivered on Tuesday. I have everything i need.

Now i can't wait to see those little seeds sprouting through the soil.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Hey @karenb54, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Thank you :)

Great idea on the bags, might have to see if i can get any cheap at wilkos etc, have you planted in the eggs before? Do you think they break down before the plants get root bound seems like a great idea 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I have never used them before but have been doing some research on them, they supposedly break down adding more Calcium to the soil. They should be easier to repot once they are strong enough :)

Beautiful view, it's been a while @karen.

Thank you and hello again :)

That's an awesome start! I know it feels fantastic to get seeds in the ground. Can't wait to see them after they sprout :D I just tried a growbag this year but haven't decided if I will get more or not. They seem to dry out very quickly in my subtropical heat.

Thank you. I need not worry then as here is the north east of UK we dont get subtropical heat, we are lucky if the sun comes out haha :)

Great start, well done! You've given me a much needed reminder to get and out and get things moving...

Thank you and get your butt out there and get your garden moving lol :)

Egg shells cool starter pots :-)

Thank you, the difficult part is collecting them, keep reminding myself to break them a certain way lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40