New plants are new friends

in #gardening7 years ago

Steemit

Intro post--

Hi there! I'm @Kareemah. I've been a SAHM for 20 years, branching out a little into new ventures.
I've been poking around here for a little while trying to find my footing.
I hope I'll be able to contribute to the awesome sharing and learning that's going on here.

Fear:
This is a bag I'm sewing. The olive green fabric is some I've had for at least four years. I had such big plans! But I ended up paralyzed by fear of somehow messing up irretrievably. Of 'wasting' it.
Lately, I've been working on adjusting my mindset. I'm taking hold of my courage and diving in. Trying things and letting it be OK if they don't turn out well. Letting the learning be part of the value of the time spent.
It's really been freeing and lead me to doing a lot of things I had held back from trying out of fear.
Even writing posts here on Steemit is a scary proposition. (I don't know what I'm doing! Will my writing be any good?)
This may be silly to some of you. After all, who's scared to cut fabric? Maybe you love the thrill of taking a risk! Or maybe you can identify with my predicament. If you do, take a sec to upvote this post!

@kareemah

https://steemitimages.com/DQmTSWNqtwUZh47or7dCUHHxrUs8VgGz4HxPsWUJgWXkSmd

Green papaya post

http://www.thesurvivalgardener.com/what-can-you-do-with-green-papaya/

IMG_9610.JPG
Yesterday was my birthday and and I was given a bunch of new plants as a surprise gift from my son as well as a long wanted rose bush!
They were mostly shared cutting so I can't identify EVERY plant but I know most of them by sight.
A few I'm most excited about are the Swiss Cheese Vine (monstera Obliqua), vanilla orchid vine (vanilla planifolia), and a Snake plant cultivar (sansevieria trifasciata)!
I look forward to many happy days watching them grow and when they are big enough, sharing cuttings with fellow plant enthusiasts!

@kareemah
IMG_9557.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65