My moringas are sprouting!

in #gardening7 years ago

I gathered some seeds a few weeks back then after dithering for a while, I put them to sprout.
I saw this method on Pinterest: I sandwiched the seeds between two layers of paper towels. Those went into a zip bag in a styrofoam tray. I sprayed some water in there and left the end open.
I did a second one where I put them into vermiculite in an old egg crate too, just to try.
It's been about a week (although I forgot to mark the start date), and I've got sprouts!
Exciting to me, at least.
Here's the layer method:
IMG_9721.JPG
Four out of six are showing significant growth!
And I thought the egg crate was a dud but check it out!:
IMG_9722.JPG
Two out of 6 have little roots coming out.
Paper towel sandwich wins hand down, though.
I would have had pics of potted baby moringas to share but I got waylaid by my youngest kids.
Thanks for sharing my plant- nerdiness with me, Steemians.
@kareemah

Sort:  

Congratulations @kareemah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I Love it! My moringa had poor germination... Maybe I'll try this next time! resteemed!

Thanks for the re-steem. @wholesomeroots
I'm pretty surprised and gratified at how well it worked

Awesome! I love Moringa! Did you have to crack the seed pod to sprout it?

@foodisfree
I didn't crack anything, although the pods and seeds rolled around the bottom of a tote bag for a week or two till I got around to them.

Then I just placed them in their respective sprouting mediums.

I have to confess: I've never tried moringa! What does it taste like? I'm in love with the nutritional value, though. I can't wait to get super healthy.

I think the greens are much better than the powder. They have an earthy flavor but it's quite nice. :)

This must be a good news to you.

Yes! I get so excited when new things happen with my plants, especially when experiments work out.
Thanks for your comment, @globalfoodbook

That's how it should be. You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15