Lily of the Valley - Convallaria majalis

in #gardening6 years ago

lily-of-the-valley.JPG

If I didn't know they were blooming I would recognize them from their scent. I'm catching whiffs of it now as I leave the house. Lily of the valley or lily-of-the-valley symbolizes humility, chastity, sweetness, purity and luck in love. It also means "the return of happiness." The birth flower for May, I might surmise we're happy because winter is finally over.

It is important to know that all parts of the lily of the
valley are poisonous and it is dangerous if ingested.

They are native to the Northern Hemisphere, another dainty but tough little perennial from the woodlands. To grow them, give them shade and moist soil, fertilizer too, if they are growing under trees. They will also bloom in direct sunlight as long as they are in a place with cool summers. To grow them, plant pips which are the sprouts from rhizomes, the underground roots. Once established, the rhizomes will spread quickly in good conditions. Just be careful because they can be a weed which you will want to contain.

lilies-of-the-valley.JPG

Lily of the valley will also adapt well to container planting. While flowering only for a short period, at least the leaves stay around and they have a nice tropical appearance. You will still want other plants amongst them for colour. Also, if you need a dose of spring blooms in mid-winter, they can be forced to bloom in only 3 to 4 weeks.

Whenever I see them, I think of this traditional children's song.

White Coral Bells

White Coral Bells
Upon a slender stalk
Lilies of the valley deck my garden walk
Oh, don't you wish that you might hear them ring?
That will happen only when the fairies sing.

References

Convallaria majalis
Lily of the Valley Planting Guide
May Birth Flower
White Coral Bells

Images

All photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Nice! Reminds me of my childhood back in Austria. Have not seen these pretty little flowers in decades. Thanks for posting :)

You're welcome, or should I say Bitte?

Danke :)

LOL. I didn't make the connection to Herr Leeb until you mentioned Austria. I know a little German because Ich hatte einen deutschen Freund. I was also raised in Southwestern Ontario, not far from the largest German speaking population outside of Germany.

Poping out all around the North / Northwest side of my house. I love them I wish they lasted longer.

Me too. I never noticed how long they lasted but my research today said 1 week.

I love these too! I was quite surprised last week to find a large patch of them grow in the water along the edge of Fanshawe Lake. I was paddling along when suddenly the fragrance just wafted over me. It was heavenly.

Yes. they're pretty amazing. That's a nice lake. I'm originally from down that way. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60