Jocelyn's CactisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago

IMG_9625.JPG

In all fairness, she recently inherited these plants, but she admitted to having a brown thumb and was hoping I could rescue them. They're pretty sad looking cacti -- I checked, areoles, those little bumps from which spines and branches grow and what distinguishes cacti from succulents, as far as I know. Now exactly what are they? I'm sure @nikv can tell us.

Here, they are both in new pots. They were in tiny cramped ones. The cactus on the left was so top heavy, it wouldn't stay upright. The one on the left was very pot bound. I took a hammer to it to gently crack the pot to get the cactus out. Have I mentioned before, that I wear oven gloves when I prune or repot my euphorbia? They came in handy again today.

Now what are we looking at below? Is it okay? Dry? Sun-burned? Both cacti had been inside and the one on the right was moved outside to the sunny side of the house. While I intuitively know what to do with most plants, that's not the case with cacti.

IMG_9626.JPG

Images

Photos from my Canon SX620 HS.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Good luck, cacti are a speciality area that I am not too familiar with either.

Sorry, got onto it late.
You are looking at a variegated Euphorbia lactea cristata (google that to find out more about cristate plants) and it has been grafted because the variegation makes it unable to produce sufficient food. You have a bit of corking there and I suspect it is from a type of mildew that is particular to Euphorbia. I think that they are both Euphorbia and both infected.
It can be difficult to get rid of mildew but copper spray could be useful. I have also dusted plants with cinnamon and that worked, too.
More important, put them in an area which has good ventilation and low humidity, with some full sun to toughen up their skins. Don't keep them near your other Euphorbia to avoid infection. Hopefully you can clear it up before the onset of winter. Treat them like your other euphorbia when it comes to watering

I wouldn't have expected you to say mildew. The good news is they aren't in my house and they will be going back to my neighbour. I looked up the corking and I think you're right there.

Yes, you don't expect it to be mildew but there's a particular species of dry mildew that only attacks euphorbia

I just took a photo of one like the one on the left. I have not been able to identify it. @ewkaw, do you know?

@nikv identified it, above.

Ah, great info to know! Thanks!

I've always wanted to get a grafted cacti like the one on the left.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95