Let me Introduce Myself ....

in #gardening6 years ago

Hi Everyone, I am Judy Redfearn. Coastal gardening in the Southeastern USA is almost always rewarding. However, for new comers to this area it can be ex"screamly" challenging.
Here is a little about me and how I came to this new career choice, travel writing/photography/teaching and creating more art, military life and more.

I grew up in coastal nc and started working with my dad on a family farm (Dad was the oldest of 10 children), at a very young age. Picking vegetables, the dreaded weeding, shelling beans, climbing apple trees, picking blueberries and grapes, picking up pecans, digging peanuts and potatoes, and barning tobacco were just some task that me and my sisters "helped with" on the farm. It was sometimes hard, hot and dirty work, but we always made time for fun.
After college at UNC-Wilmington, I traveled and worked in Sales with a National Company out of Cleveland OH. I loved my job but after 9 years, it was time to get off the road. Fast forward to married life in the early 90's and more farming. I have co-owned and operated a large family Nursery and Retail Garden center on the North Carolina Crystal Coast, for the last 25 years. That Nursery and Garden Center has been in business for 50+ years. Though I no longer have a vested interest in this company, my passion for plants and beach life have continued to grow almost daily. I have also been doing plant, landscape, real estate, beach and beach life photography for the past 30 years. It doesn't matter how many times you've seen something, when looking thru the lens of a camera, it brings a whole new perception of your surroundings. Often after being outside shooting, I have a relaxed and calm feeling, as well as feeling more energetic and creative. This often leads to: more writing, up-cycled garden projects, painting, cooking, fishing, pilates, boating to name a few of my other "hobbies ".

I have 2 grown Children, and are both still active in all aspects of plants, sod, nursery, landscaping and photography. My first Grandchild was born last fall, and I hope his love and appreciation of nature and plant life grows as he does.

IBCNU
Judy!

If you want to see a certain topic, let me know. If you'd like me to speak, or appear at any upcoming events, again, let me know. If you need photos or blog material, that's me too !
You can follow me on Instagram @nautigirlgardening @nautigirlnotes @nautigirltickets
image.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59