Growing a baby venus fly trap

in #gardening6 years ago

I bought 2 venus fly trap plants that were already flourishing.


It was nice but I wanted to see what it was like to care for one from its beginning. So I decided to plant some new ones and they are growing! Venus fly traps aren't the easiest thing to grow in Texas, so its exceptionally rewarding.
image
image

For a size comparison, take a look at it next to my finger.


image

Sort:  

its too cute!

so that's peat moss its growing on?

any thing special you need to know about temp/humidity or are they just generally happy indoors?

This is actually outside believe it or not. They are kind of needy. So you cant give them regular tap water. They require distilled water or rain water and the soil needs to continuously be moist. I live in Texas, so its hot as hell here. They seem to be growing just fine. I have a few and they are all growing new mouths and look fine. Other than the water and peat moss they do just fine outdoors in hell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76