You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: KafkA Shack Garden Update 4.26.2018

in #gardening6 years ago

Congrats man, I know that represents considerable effort.
Wish I had more advice on pests and potatoes. At my location pest typically aren't a problem, I have no idea what might show up at your garden.

Potatoes are a member of the night shade and have some pretty nasty toxins in their leaves. I suppose that's why I don't see many pests on the ones I've grown.

If you have some kind of bugs under the ground they may try to chew into the potatoes. Not, saying it will happen, but there is that possibility.

Sort:  

Thanks. Yeah, it is a fun effort, though.

Potatoes are a member of the night shade and have some pretty nasty toxins in their leaves. I suppose that's why I don't see many pests on the ones I've grown.

Is that right? That makes a lot of sense for some reason. The deep green color just looks serious. I'll be sure not to smoke any of the leaves, either. Lol.

Yeah, I was concerned about bugs in the ground but am not really sure what steps can be taken to keep them out of the taters.

There is a surprising amount of garden plants that are night shades, even tomatoes. It is important to let the potatoes fully 'ripen' before using. The green ones will continue to hold mild amount of the night shade toxins.

Very interesting. I feel like someone had told me that at some point. I knew there was some sort of risk there. Thanks man. Much obliged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62284.56
ETH 2424.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58