My kids helped me on the allotment until they found something more interesting and funny to do.

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)


My girlfriend started a new job yesterday so while she was out of the house I took the kids to the allotment. I've spent quite a few hours recently clearing the ground and this was the first time they've seen it and I think they were impressed because they started helping me out which is something they are usually reluctant to do. It didn't take long for them to get bored with raking and pulling up weeds and what they found to amuse themselves I found amusing too so I thought I would share it. I did video them helping too but it wasn't as funny or interesting so I uploaded a photo of them helping alongside the video instead.

Kids are awesome. They brighten up my day. Everyday.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh my goodness, so beautiful to hear you speak to your children, and good job getting in there Daisy you are a champ!!

Thanks Lynds for the lovely comment. I'll let Daisy know you were impressed with the contortionist skills !!!
Hope all is well.
Stay safe x

LOL...I used to pay my kids a penny for each dead/swatted fly that would land on our house in the fall, and a nickle for each mating pair that they killed with one blow. It wasn't much, but just enough to keep them swatting away, merrily, most of the day. It sure helped keep the indoor fly population down that fall...lol...

Trickt to try next time..? So much per handful of weeds?

Ha ha. Good tip !!

I never thought of paying them but I think I might get some good results and they are still young enough to be enticed by a penny per handful, especially if I take a jar full of pennies up with me so they can see it out of the corner of their eye. Looks like a trip to the bank is in order to change £5 into pennies !!!

LOL...seems to work until the oldest hits middle school age...Then that one tells the younger ones "it's not worth it..."...lol...

So nice that your kids can get some hands-on experience... could prove very useful in the future!

Thanks for the comment. I'm hoping that they will take something from the fact that it sometimes takes hours rather than minutes to see a result because these days too many children are so used to instant gratification that they can't stick at anything for more than 10 minutes. To be fair to them, until relatively recently (I'm 40), I was as bad but I'm really starting to enjoy working on the allotment and hopefully they will too, eventually !!!

No compatible source was found for this media.

That's linux for you, Hope you all had fun.

I tried to install Linux on a laptop the other day but couldn't get it to work.

Although I didn't think I would, I am actually enjoying the manual/physical work and the satisfaction of seeing the results of my labour. Makes a nice change from my day job where I spend all day wasting my time on computers with little to no reward (apart from money at the end of the month).

If you download ubuntu, and burn it as ISO to a dvd, you can run it direct from the dvd, a sort of try before you buy, and if you like it, it is easy to install from the screen prompt whilst trying it.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76