The Ripe Report! What's going to market this week!

in #gardening8 years ago

 Last weeks market was a bit of a let down, plenty of vendors but not many buyers. To top that all off, I spent more time catching up with old vendor friends than getting any photos of the market. I hope to remedy that this Saturday when we get out to the Tomball Farmer's Market. The Tomball market has always been a great market for us, plenty of eager customers always ready for us to make our fall pilgrimage back to the market.

So instead of the old greenhouse update, I thought I would give you the new ripe report, a quick overview of the ripe produce we are taking to the markets. This week should be really special since most of the heirloom tomatoes have started to come in. 

So here they are in no particular order.

Indigo Rose

 We started with these little dark beauties our first year, and they were a hit, probably the best selling specialty tomato we grow. They get darker when the sun shines on them, the seed catalog says they have higher levels of the antioxidant Anthocyanin. Now whether or not that helps your health, well I can't really speak on that matter, what I do know, these tomatoes have a unique earthy, smokey flavor that people love. These are usually the first tomatoes we sell out of. 

Roma 

 This is our first year for these tomatoes, but I have had requests for them since we started this operation, not really the easiest to grow in our set up, we are geared more towards indeterminates. They are prolific but should have a short harvest time, although they don't appear to be slowing down yet.  I have tried a few of these and they have great flavor and are very meaty, should be great for sauces and canning.

See my earlier post about determinate and indeterminate tomatoes here!

Rose 

 The Rose is another heirloom variety, slightly acidic with lots of tomato flavor. Great for slicing and salads. This variety is always a big seller, people still want a plain red/pink heirloom and this is a good one. 

Yellow Brandywine

 This is the tomato that draws in the crowd, it is a potato leaved variety like most brandywines, so it's growth habit is a little different that the other, but the flavor and eye appeal make up for that. A box full of these sun colored giants will bring the folks from up and down the market just to see them. These have a sweeter taste than most of our tomatoes with a lot less acid, folks love em.

Green Zebra

 This is the tomato that makes people who don't like tomatoes, eat tomatoes! I have had several folks that don't like tomatoes try these and become instant converts. This is my favorite out of the specialty tomatoes, it tastes like a tomato should, and you can't beat that striking color pattern. My wife makes salsa out of these, you can't beat it. These are the number 2 best sellers, they sell out fast.

So there is a look at the tomato varieties going to the market, we have a large load of the Geronimo as well, they are the main crop we take, and a load of cucumbers and lettuce. I'm hoping for a big sale day otherwise, I'll be on a salad diet for a week or so till the next market.


Kiwano Update

@papa-pepper's Kiwano seeds have finally produced some fruit, there aren't ripe yet but should be coming along soon. I have one that is getting on up in size and it looks like it came from another planet. Can't wait to get one of these ripe so I can try it out. Take a look at this monster!

 There are quite a few on the plants but this one is by far the biggest right now. I expect these things to start hatching humanoid bodies out any time now! LOL

Well folks, I'll update you in a day or so to let you know how the market went, this time, I will get some pics of the goings on!

So until then, Keep on Growing!

Sort:  

I expect these things to start hatching humanoid bodies out any time now!

Hahaha :D

Who doesn't love tomatoes? One of my favorites is Cherokee purple. Unfortunately, the nights are getting cooler. Tomatoes and blossoms are starting to wane :(

I have Cherokee Purple, they just haven't ripened yet, another week or so. That is an all time favorite

These look awesome.
Romas are awesome for pico de gallo. They hold up well, maintaining their meatiness. They're the main tomatoes I buy, but we grow others. So far, we haven't gotten our romas going well at this place.

First time in our greenhouse, they are a sprawling mess, but they seem to be producing well

First time I see the indigo rose!

They have been a big seller for us! Hope the trend continues!


There might be money to be made on those Kiwano.

very possible, have to see what the market consensus says !

They go for about $2 each in AR.

Very beautifull post @jed78, I followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45