Showing Off Some Giant Tomatoes And Baby Watermelons!

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Giant Tomatoes

 We are starting to get some big tomatoes come in, most of them run on the eight to ten ounce range, every once in a while we get some that grow just a little bigger!

 Last week while picking for the market I ran across this one, ran about a pound and a quarter, probably one of our biggest tomatoes ever. It was well formed and looked great!

 Needless to say I was quite impressed with my skill at growing such a monster. Then just a few days later, again picking for a market I noticed another good sized tomato. I picked it off and put it in the box not thinking much about it until I saw it next to the other tomatoes, it dwarfed them. I ran it back to the front to check it's weight!

 Low and behold it weighed at at a whopping two pounds! Both of these were of the Rose variety, they are large beefsteak varieties so they usually put out some good sized tomatoes. So what's the reason for such big tomatoes?



 Well for one thing, we feed these plants a nutrient solution that has been formulated to supply the needs of the plant, we had our water tested and then had the nutrient formula worked to meet the needs of the tomatoes based on that.  This allows the tomatoes to reach their genetic potential without having to spend time and energy sending out roots to look for food. 

 I don't expect these giants to go on all season, usually it's the first fruit of the crop that grows this large, So I guess we will have to wait until next year to see monsters like this again!

Mexican Sour Gherkins

In my quest to try something new in the green house, I seeded some Mexican Sour Gherkins, another vining cucurbit, though nowhere near as wild as @papa-peppers Kiwanos. These have taking quite a while to put on some fruit, maybe it was just so small that I didn't see it. 

So in all their small glory I present to you the baby watermelon! Well that's what they look like to me.


Sorry for the slow posting lately, as you can see it has gotten really busy in the greenhouse, things are moving at quite a clip. Got some market stuff to post but no time to sit down long enough to post it!

I'll see ya when I can so until then, Keep Growing

jed78

Sort:  

Gret pics and post. Tomatoes look delicious. I chose your story for the SteemTrail project today. Good luck.

Thanks, I appreciate the exposure!

What region are you in that your tomatoes are just coming on now, in October? I know in the South, the fall is a lot better for tomatoes than trying to deal with the summer heat.

I'm in south Texas, we are greenhouse growers so we will have tomatoes all winter! and yes, tomatoes do better with cooler nighttime temps

That makes sense now. Your season of easy growing is just kicking in, then. May all your crops be bug-free!

Delicious harvest. I can even imagine amazing smell of tomatoes!

Yep, it's a great tomato smell in the greenhouse!

For SteemTrail curation under the Gardening tag, can you add a statement about the source of your photos? It's clear that these are all yours, of course. But doing this regularly will help everyone, including people new to Steemit, appreciate original contributions and develop habits that everyone highlight original content more effectively. Thanks!

All photos are mine, Not sure where you want me to state that?

At the bottom, where you put your sign off and name, that's fine.

We had some large ones this year also. Our greenhouse needs a cooling system for the summer heat, so it has been dormant this year. The nights have been cooler recently, and our tomatoes are just about gone. :(
Hope yours last longer. :)
I envy Fresh Tomatoes.

We have a evaporative cooling system that is just about worthless in the summer here, so we don't grow much from June til September. We are in our rime season right now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62617.55
ETH 2438.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67