You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Cucumber's are Growing Deformed........And Here is the Reason's Why?

in #gardening7 years ago

AhhhH!! These are clown cucumbers! They are really funny looking! I'm having an issue with my cucumber plant too -it's starting to fruit but then the little 1 inch cucumber turns yellow and shrivels up before it grows any bigger. :(((

Sort:  

My did not go yellow or shrivel. Funny why it is doing this.

So strange. Maybe they've got a good sense of humor.

Sure, why not, seems like everyone else around the homestead does, including my two cat's who love the potato patch as a litter box. Thanks

just in case you couldn't sleep at night worrying about my cucumbers (or lack thereof), my tiny shriveled yellow cukes are likely ones that were not actually pollinated. It makes sense too because I had the plant surrounded in hardware cloth to protect against hungry critters. I took it down today and we'll see if some of the newer flowers become cucumbers. People also said you could help it along by using a paintbrush to help pollinate the female flowers. This doesn't help with your crazy shapes, but in the future, remember this if your cucumbers have my same issue!

Hand pollinating. yes I did a post about that a few months back, this is how I grow things in the winter in my house. I also did a post about recognizing the female and male flowers. Good luck let me know how it works out.

Will do keep you posted! I feel like a fairy out there dusting pollen all over the flowers. Tinkerbell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31