You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2018 Monster Garden: In progress... [Gardening]

in #gardening6 years ago

What a great and insightful read. Amazing how things change over the years. I've been trying to get my hands on Azalea seed for some time now but have failed miserably and the nursery doesn't sell any of the plant itself. That one that you have though is set to become an amazing bonsai. Reminds me of the one I used in one of my earlier posts, especially the cascade feature.

Sort:  

This one started as a cutting that another bonsai grower gave to me after I bought some bonsai soil from him. I really wish he still sold bonsai soil. My supply is almost gone. At least I still have this awesome tree.

Luckily I don't struggle with getting my hands on bonsai soils. I pay through my teeth but at least I know it works. When I can't get my hands on a pre-mix, I tend to get some river sand, perlite, peat moss, fine-ish gravel - I don't like lava rock all that much since I found that it kind of reduces growth rates. Not sure if there is actual research on that. Either way, at least nurseries and garden centers etc are almost never out of stock on these.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65