Autumn Gardening | Tomato and Basil Seedlings

in #gardening6 years ago

IMG-20180419-01286.jpg

I have some tomatoes that came off a heirloom thessaloniki tomato plant, the plant never really grew and the tomatoes are more like cocktail tomatoes. So, instead of planting more seeds, I decided to see if there were seeds inside these mini tomatoes. I cut one open and what do you know!... there were quite a few seeds.

IMG-20180325-01149.jpg

I planted the tomato just as I cut it and I think just about all the seeds that were inside this tomato have grown. This is by far the easiest way to grow tomatoes that I have tried.

IMG-20180325-01150.jpg

IMG-20180420-01305.jpgTomato Seedlings

Companion Planting Tomato and Basil

I have organic sweet basil seeds that I've been trying to grow the whole summer. I tried starting the seedlings indoors and then transplanting but the seeds simply refused to grow in the soil that I planted it. I had some success by putting some seeds in a container with wet paper towel but the seedlings died after transplanting it into the soil.

IMG-20180418-01284.jpgRain :-)

Now that we're having some cooler weather and also some rain, I decided to try planting some seeds directly outside in the soil and finally I've got some healthy basil seedlings.

IMG-20180420-01308.jpgBasil Seedlings

I've read many articles about how beneficial basil plants are for tomatoes and I've never done this before, so I'm hoping the basil & tomato combination works out for me. According to the articles basil is not only a great pest repellent but also enhances the flavour of tomatoes, actually making it sweeter. Wow! I can't wait to see if that is true.



All photos are my own



DQmTRR5VcoprEbRW8JyVopMRwbuYVRRYDZA7cHKusoPTtaM.png



DQmTxr8ui764gnE6ThnQ1vcWNN7jf7pzg3cf6NZqmLKKeP8_1680x8400.png

Team South Africa banner created by @bearone

Sort:  

Good idea to just plant the tomato! I've just received plants for the summer, hope they do as well as yours.

Thank you :-) ... Plants, just like most things in life, can be quite unpredictable... guess we just have to wait and see how well our plants do!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hoosain from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sweet. My tomatoes and basil are also popping up together with the rest. When I am at home during the day again then I will take pictures! Hahaha!

Looks like autumn is a better time to do some gardening in Cape Town...

Thanks for stopping by :-)

I always have high hopes when I plant something but more often than not, they die before I get to use them. I have managed to keep a rosemary plant alive which is awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67