You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delicious, beautiful Orach has sustainably self-sowed herself in our garden

You've been visited by @nateonsteemit from Homesteaders Co-op.

That's cool, I've never heard of orach! Better than spinach is a bold claim. I'll have to stop by your store and pick some up soon! You think it'd do okay down here?


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Sort:  

@nateonsteemit - yes it is a bold claim, and my opinion at that! Yeah they should grow great where you are - they are a good spring veggie :)

Soon as I get up the steem, it's yours. :)

Does it tolerate heat well?

Posted using Partiko Android

It will bolt with heat like lettuce or spinach, but I find it somewhat more tolerant of heat and slower to bolt than lettuce or spinach. That said its a good spring/early summer greens for warm climates. You've purchased so many seeds from us I will be happy to send you some Orach seeds on the house so that you can save your steem for another HSCO vendor :)

Heck yeah, I'll take em! I think I planted my greens out of season, and none of it is coming up. I can't figure out salads lol

When to plant salads? I planted some in the fall and they didn't come up til spring. I planted some in spring and nada.

Posted using Partiko Android

OK You got it! I don't have a lot of experience with Spinach other than realizing its hard to find a good bolt resistant spinach... which makes me think I need to try locally bred spinach seeds. Lettuce can technically be planted any month of the year, but in warmer months it will need extra water to keep it from getting bitter. Lettuce and spinach can tolerate light frost and so you can seed or transplant them fairly early in the season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46