You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cinder Block Potatoes!

in #gardening7 years ago

I had never heard of this technique before. Where did you get this idea? Since I grew up on a potato farm, I can’t help but find it strange that everyone plants their potatoes built up like this. But there’s more than one day of doing things! I love seeing all these new ideas.

Sort:  

I do not recall seeing anyone else doing this, I had the materials and figured I would try an experiment. I have had decent results. Grew up on a potato farm you say? What was the standard procedure for growing potatoes where you were?

https://pixabay.com/en/agriculture-potato-crop-field-2654157/
Not my picture obviously, but this is how my dad grew potatoes. I was still young at the time, but I did get to ride on the back of the potato planter a handful of times. The potato slices would get stuck once in awhile, so you’d have to use a stick to loosen them up. I also worked on the harvester once. Tossed out the clumps of dirt/plants before they made it to the truck. What I helped with a lot, though, was washing the potatoes. I wanted to take some pictures of the little assembly my dad had in the barn, but he had it all unhooked and whatnot. At one end, he would shovel in some potatoes and the small ones fell through a screen. Then they went down the line into a big steel water trough to soak. Next, they went through sprayers and scrubbers to clean up. Last, they went down the rollers where I would toss out any green ones/rotten ones etc. and in a potato sack they went. Oh those were some good memories!

Thank you for all the details! Glad they were good memories for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69