You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Love Green Too #06: My Patch of Bamboo in the Garden

Do you harvest the bamboo poles for anything? They would be great for garden structures. Stores here in Oregon sell them - and they are not inexpensive, either. I like seeing those high-growing squash, too. : )

Sort:  

These are mostly ornamental and do not have the tensile strength and also break up on impact. Bamboo is used extensively around here traditionally and you can buy some easily and cheaply. Though I do have a huge grove in my lands in the village, from where I get it when required.

That's interesting. I didn't realize there's a difference in their strength. Yours look pretty big and sturdy. It's good that you have a place where you can get the sturdy ones. If you ever go get some from that grove, it would be great to see a post about that for the @foraging-trail. It's so great to have natural materials to use, rather than having to buy everything.

Yes they look strong but they are not! We have a local species called "Mal Bas" which is the preferred one for all traditional uses and found extensively and tensile strength has been measured to be higher than most materials, perfect for posts and such. And yes the next time I am in my ancestral village, I will take some pics and post them here, Thanks.

Looking forward to it, @norbu! Enjoy all your bamboo! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22