You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Year Long, Unforgettable Woofing Adventure On Skipley Farm

When I was a kid, a retired man lived at the end of the street. All the kids called him Beans. We would go to his backyard, where he had a large, neat vegetable garden. He grew lots of carrots. I would always ask to eat a fresh carrot. But he would say, "I've got something better." He would go pull a turnip and slowly peel and quarter it with his little, old pocketknife. To this day, I absolutely love fresh picked turnips. I wish every kid had somebody like Beans in their life!

PS: I have a Williams Pride apple, too. They are such a great summer apple! They were so early here in Oregon this year -- some by the end of June! I'm almost convinced I could get a double crop off them if our climate warms much more!

Sort:  

Good story! I love turnips too. William's Pride apples were really early here as well. What kind of potatoes are you growing?

This year, I'm just going on the volunteers in the compost and a couple other places scattered around the yard, from past plantings. Last year, I grew a lot! 5 different fingerlings, 5 different storage potatoes. I'll put up a post about my Magic Molly fingerlings pretty soon. They were a great potato! Other ones, just off the top of my head: Red Pontiac (super productive), Keukok Gold, Banana Fingerling, Red Thumb fingerling, Red Maria, an unknown russet. I'll have to look at my photos for the rest, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99