You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Grow Onions, Leeks And Shallots

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

From this post, it sounds like you do most of your onion planting in the fall rather than the spring, is that right? I plant some in the fall, especially garlic. But most of the summer onions I plant in the spring. Onions are one of my favorite things to grow! You are so right about needing to keep the onion patch free of weeds! I see too many folks disappointed with their onions, but their onion patch has a lot of grass, especially, out-competing for the water and nutrients. What's the best storage onion that you have come across?

Sort:  

I do plant in the spring too and in the fall. We sell and eat most of the onion we grow. I do find that the yellow varieties seem to store the longest as do the shallots. Stuttgarter, Yellow Globe and Copra keep really well. Usually the stronger the taste of the onion and the thicker the skin is, the longer it will keep.

Copra is my absolute favorite. But now it's going to be gone, so I've got to find another variety. I think Talon is supposed to take the place of Copra. I am bummed about losing Copra! I should try Stuttgarter and Yellow Globe, too. But Copra is so beautiful, too. : (

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00