You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Library Program Spotlight: Edible Landscaping Edition

That sounds like a nice topic for a library program. And it's nice to hear your library is sharing seeds, too.

I'm a big fan of #EatYourYard. I think it works both ways -- there may already be plants in your yard that are good to eat, but not usually appreciated that way. And then we could all put more edible plants in our yards. The more perennial food plants we have, the easier it is, too, over the long run. There's a lot of food for thought in any discussion about edible landscaping.

That Trombocino sounds like an elongated Butternut Squash, with all the seeds in the base. It sure does increase the overall usable food. And it's so easy to slice them into disks for roasting in the oven. We're all ready for spring! Bring it on! : )

Sort:  

It's really cool to see libraries around the country jump on the community food production train! One of our district libraries has a pretty phenomenal seed swap going, kind of like us Steemians!

You won't see me applying any weed and feed to my yard, I'd much rather eat the dandelions! Plus, I am one of those strange folk that loves them. We've also got a nice supply of plantain and yarrow around the house that I find very useful!

And I agree wholeheartedly, bring on the spring!!!

I eat a lot of dandelions. They are in my top 5 wild greens, for sure. I'm always surprised at the narrowleaf plantain (Plantago lanceolata) in my yard. It has a good mushroom flavor when it's raw. And it's a great cooked green. I haven't done much with yarrow. I should make a point to get to know it better this spring. Yay for spring!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40