You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Microgreen Update

Microgreens are good incentives for saving seed from plants, even hybrids that won't reproduce the same variety. Since they get harvested so young, it doesn't matter what variety they are. So anytime radishes, broccoli, kale, spinach, basil, or other plants that make good microgreens go to seed, it's a bonus! I think this is the easiest way to use sunflower seeds, too. Much easier than cracking seeds and tastier than roasted sunflower seeds in the shell. Enjoy your microgreens and your weekend away with friends!

Sort:  

Ooh! I totally agree with you on the microgreen sentiments and especially the sunflower seed usage! If I had to plant all of the excess sunflower seeds that I produce I'm pretty sure that I would need far more acreage and some larger equipment, lol! Much better to nibble on them in spout form without all all of the cracking, roasting, and such.

Hope you have a fantastic weekend too! I'm getting ready to wander out the door for some fun!

Sunflowers are so productive, that's for sure. Plenty for people and seeds for bird feed, too. So much of the sunflowers are worth eating. I like the buds! One day, I will cook the flower base of a giant sunflower and use it as the crust for a pizza -- one big, artichoke-flavored pizza crust.

That's awesome! What a great idea! Especially as pizza! I am going to try your idea out on one of my dinner plate sized buds this year! Thanks hh!

I've been thinking about this all winter, lol! It seems so right! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43