You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wildcrafted Medicine: The Incredible Healing Properties of HENBIT

This is a great little member of the Mint family. All the mints have the square stems, so it's easy to tell one of family. I have more of the red henbit at my place in Oregon's Willamette valley. It's also called henbit deadnettle or purple deadnettle (Lamium purpureum). I put it in my salads and smoothies in late winter and early spring, and cook in a mixed pot of greens, too. The bees love it, though, and need all the food they can find on the nice days at that time of year, so I don't harvest it as much as chickweed and other early spring greens.

I get a lot of Persian speedwell (Veronica persica), too. It's not toxic, but it tastes (to me) like menthol cigarettes and gasoline! It does make a tasty tea, though. It's a great example that knowing how to use a plant is as important as being able to identify it.

Enjoy your henbit bounty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94