You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Miracle Of The Fig Tree

What kind of fig is that in your image? I'm used to seeing the fig fruits come off of the stem, not in a structure like that, with multiple fruits. And I'm used to seeing lobed leaves, not a leaf made of several leaflets. The plant in your image, to me, looks more like a Virginia Creeper (Parthenocissus quinquefolia) or False Viginia Creeper (P. vitacea). I don't think their fruits get near as big as Figs (*Ficus). Are you eating these fruits?

Sort:  

This was a fig tree I took a picture of in a nursery setting. They identified it as a type of fig. No, the leaves of my trees look a little different. But this tree had the same white sap and kind of fuzzy leaf. I was told it was a new variety.

That is so strange. I wonder what the internal structure of those fruits looked like. If you ever get back there, I'd sure like to see more, especially since it's a new variety! I wonder if the nursery trade is starting to call other plants "figs", like they do with some houseplants. Anyway, enjoy the figs from your trees! :D

Thanks, we enjoy both the leaves and the figs. I was traveling and saw the sign and thought it interesting. Who knows, really. It could be human error or something new!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46