A Perfect Permaculture Village in the Heart of Mexico City

in #gardening7 years ago


On my recent travels in Mexico City, I stumbled upon a picture-perfect permaculture paradise in La Roma district. It's called Huerto Roma Verde. There were so many different projects at work I couldn't even film them all, but most interesting was the interplay of all of the systems.

It was a truly self-sustaining system right in the heart of an urban center like Mexico City. They had bathrooms, a bar, shop, hospital, full composting systems, and dozens upon dozens of raised beds.

Learn more about Huerto Roma Verde:
http://huertoromaverde.org/

Thanks For Reading!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you! Please leave a comment so I can get to know you better.

My name is Kevin and I run Epic Gardening, a website, podcast, and YouTube channel. My goal is to teach 10,000,000 people how to grow their own food.

I'm a big believer in Steemit and decentralized platforms, so I'm going all in on Steemit, dtube, and dsound. Be sure to check me out there too! You'll find me writing about gardening, travel, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png

Kevin


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

10 million people!? what a admirable goal man. Much respect! great post keep up the great content!

Gotta dream big! We'll see if I get there :P - thanks for watching!

This garden is so beautiful! Thank you for the Video !

1:38 The cat is really impressive!

Oh man, I need to find one of those around here. Permaculture just seems like the end-game to living self-sustainably, something we need far more of than we think.

I'd tend to agree, though I think everyone has their own tolerance for how far they want to go in a permaculture life - we should all encourage any positive step!

that's awesome: in the heart of the city //we humans need more of that! thanks for sharing <3

They had bathrooms, a bar, shop, hospital, full composting systems, and dozens upon dozens of raised beds.

COOL^^

Thank you mountain!

great , thanks , green is life...

Green lifestyle baby :)

What an exceptional treasure to stumble upon.

So inspirational.

Moving to Bulgaria soon and looking forward to getting down and dirty :)

This gives me a few ideas.

Thanks.

xox

(If you get a spare mo please feel free to pop by mine and let me know your thoughts on my latest post ~ :))

Oh man, you'll have to do some Bulgaria videos!

This topic is really interesting, I think that permaculture is our future! Thank you for this lovely post and I hope that you will reach your goal! Sending you my biggest support :)

Thank you Milica! I wish I was a landscape architect in another life :)

Well, first off, it is nice to meet you. I love steemit for this connectivity. I am an artist and a homesteader so have found many wonderful people on here with similar loves.

What an amazing trip that must have been to see that place in Mexico City. I think we really all have to move to more sustainability.

Good luck reaching your goal, a very good goal I might add to have so many learn to grown their own. I'm getting ready to start my seeds soon here in coastal New England, Indoors of course.

Glad I found you!

Thank you so much Donna! What're you starting indoors right now?

I am going to start my toms and cukes now, as we have a lot of sun and large windows so I want to see if I can get them going and potted out and get some really early ones. I am also doing salads, peppers, and starting my melons. Oh and all my flower mixes, wildflower/annual/perrenial.

Good luck with it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45