Propagating Thyme: My Dirt-Simple Method For Success

in #gardening6 years ago


Growing thyme is one of the joys of having an herb garden. It spices up so many dishes that it's a staple...but what if you want more of it? In this video I go over a dead-simple method for propagating an endless amount of thyme from cuttings.

No rooting hormone, no special tools. Simply dirt, scissors, water, and some thyme. If you want to know how to grow thyme, make sure to subscribe as I'll be doing plant profiles on all of the common kitchen herbs in the future.

Thanks For Reading!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you! Please leave a comment so I can get to know you better.

My name is Kevin and I run Epic Gardening, a website, podcast, and YouTube channel. My goal is to teach 10,000,000 people how to grow their own food.

I'm a big believer in Steemit and decentralized platforms, so I'm going all in on Steemit, dtube, and dsound. Be sure to check me out there too! You'll find me writing about gardening, travel, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png

Kevin


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. I just planted some this winter from seed and it takes so long for it to grow big enough that you can use it. I'm loving this idea of propagation and I'm trying to figure out which ones are the easiest to start learning with. Last year we tried mulberries but all of them died but one.

You're welcome! Sorry to hear about the mulberries, that's a bummer :(

I'm done with trying to propagate with the cuttings in dirt. Im attempting in water with a light cover with some of my honey berries. If that doesn't work, I will try just a damp paper towel around them in a cooler. Gotta keep experimenting!

Oh, nice! I am looking forward to the kitchen profiles on fresh herbs. I cook with a lot of dried herbs but not fresh. That's one area where I am lacking knowledge and would love some pointers. What are some dishes you use fresh thyme in? -Aimee

I'm usually using my thyme to season meats for stews, etc. To be honest I use other herbs besides thyme much more often but every now and then it makes its way into a dish :)

Stew definitely makes a regular appearance on our menu, so I will have to keep that in mind. Thanks! -Aimee

You're welcome Aimee!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82