2018 Garden Planning Contest Winners!

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Gardeners! I'm pleased to announce that the first contest I've ever held (!) is closed and I have selected the winners. The whole goal with this contest was to spark fellow gardeners imagination and get everyone planning their 2018 garden.

DQmNzbmWTKKGHzB5vxVYi92d46vJkJ8JcHV4FNkhmM3qXWT_1680x8400.jpg

We had some incredible entries - here is a quick rundown of who entered and what I liked about each of their garden plans:

The Entrants

  • @mike314-0005 (See Post)) - I learned of the Chinese Artichoke, or Crosne and was inspired to get a little more serious about how I lay out my garden after looking at the overhead view of her plans!
  • @creativetruth (See Post) - The sketches of her garden are absolutely incredible and have persuaded me to do some sketching of my front yard. I also love the idea to grow turmeric and ginger this year. Two plants I use all of the time, but never thought to grow.
  • @mamajeani (See Post) - I love that she's trying new things out in the garden by growing in mesh pots, as well as selling starts to make some extra cash!
  • @jackjoe (See Post) - As a fellow fig lover, I couldn't help but smile when I saw that they're going to focus on that delicious fig-producing tree this year.

The Prizes

The prizes as per the original post were as follows:

  1. 3 SBD (2 from my personal stash and 1 from @beyondordinary)
  2. A full upvote on your next post from @goldendawne (currently worth $3.18)
  3. A full upvote on your next post from me (currently worth $0.18)
  4. A full upvote on your next post from @creativetruth (currently worth $3.48)

Here's the thing...I simply COULD NOT pick one winner.

The way I figure it...the more people out there on Steemit planning and gardening...the better.

Here is the prize breakdown:

I hope you all enjoyed creating your garden plans as much as I enjoyed reading them. I learned a lot of new ways to think about how I approach my garden and am super excited to get growing this season.

Thanks for participating! Be sure to leave a comment and let me know what type of garden contest I should run next.

Final Note

I'll have limited communication for a bit this weekend, so I am calling upon the help of the wonderful @goldendawne to help facilitate the rest of the prizes going out!

Thanks For Reading!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you! Please leave a comment so I can get to know you better.

My name is Kevin and I run Epic Gardening, a website, podcast, and YouTube channel. My goal is to teach 10,000,000 people how to grow their own food.

I'm a big believer in Steemit and decentralized platforms, so I'm going all in on Steemit, dtube, and dsound. Be sure to check me out there too! You'll find me writing about gardening, travel, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png

Kevin

Sort:  

Congratulations to all the winners!!!
@mamajeani let e know which post I haven't already UPvoted for you that you'd like me to UPvote now.

Thanks for helping me through my first contest!

You're welcome!!! anytime!

Thank you :)

Thanks for all. It's great to participate in this contest. I've visited your youtube channel @halcyondaze . I'm glad to see that ...

Wow it was a nice contest

Ahhh so didnt know about this. Will do the next one =D

Open to ideas for the next one!

Awesome. I've bookmarked your page as I can't find another way of keeping up to date with contests etc!

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pumpkinsandcats/the-container-veggie-patch-with-pumpkinsandcats-the-2018-plan-and-overview

This is my Organic, Heirloom And GM Free Container Garden in Wales and the plan for 2018 if anyone does want to have a nosey =D

Looks amazing! I'm going to be holding more contest soon, so I'm really looking forward to your participation!

Its look so beautiful. Gardening my hobby. I like gardening. Thanks for post

Thanks - looking forward to you participating in the future!

Thank you for this quality post.
I am a stay at home dad that will be growing mushrooms and doing workshops for a bit of income on the side.
It was interesting reading links to other peoples post as I will be trying to grow fruit and veg too for the family.

Wow! Thanks a lot!!
I can understand it was hard for you to choose, I've read all the other posts too, and I learned something from every single one.

Thanks for providing this opportunity and getting me to start writing about gardening again. The next post is already taking form in my head.

I can't wait to see your next contest coming. I don't mind what kind of contest it is, if it's about gardening, I'm all in :-)

LOL well done on the .gif. Got me laughing here at 2am!

First time I’m using one :-)
Thought it was funny too

Congratulations! I hope we can do another contest in the future.
@jackjoe can expect my 100% vote soon. I'm charging up my voting power to add to the value, since the price of steem dropped my value of bit.

So grateful that you participated and happy to have given something back to you :)

Thank you @creativetruth, nice to know you...

Thanks so very much!!! I'm honored!
reclaim garden 1.19 romaine 2.jpg

It looks sooo good....thanks for sharing

Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81