Lovage Free Seeds

in #gardening5 years ago

20190614_100132.jpg

Today is so sunny and beautiful, but unfortunately I had to kill some lettuce. I hate thinning. Most of the time I carefully separate young seedlings, but I have so much going on I can't save them all.

Alright this post is supposed to be about Lovage so I better snap to it.

@senorcoconut I have some seeds that I just learned are still viable. Yay! I collected them myself two years ago from my mother plant that I bought from the Bowden Community Gardens sale. A big thank you to Corrie Monk for getting that started and being so helpful all around!

I'm not sure how to message on this steemit platform, but if anyone wants seeds and you are not on the other side of the world, I'll see if I can send some. It would be so nice to share the blessing of this wonderful plant.

Pictured above: A young lovage. It's mother grew to 7 Ft high.

Without further delay...

LOVAGE

Lovage (Levisticum Officinale) is a perennial herb and is a member of the parsley family, but it doesn’t look like parsley. Its stalks and leaves are more reminiscent of celery and suitably is sometimes called Wild Celery.

When we think of herbs, we typically think of tiny cutesy things sitting in miniature herb gardens on sunny windowsills, but Lovage, if given the space in an outside garden, can grow to as much as 7 feet high.

The strength of Lovage can be seen in its ability to withstand a Prince George winter; however, it has its roots (pardon the pun ) in the Mediterranean region of southern Europe and Asia Minor.

Lovage has numerous health benefits and can be used as an anti- inflammatory, an expectorant and a diuretic. These are only a few of its many helpful attributes. A simple search on the internet will help you to discover more on its history as well as its varied medicinal uses.

The culinary uses of Lovage are as simple or as complex as you want to make them. You can simply toss some chopped leaves and stems in your salad, or you can tinker with it in your next soup or stew creation. It can be added to casseroles, sauces, scrambled eggs... Once tasted, the celery-like-curry flavour is an automatic “go to” for enriching many dishes.

Sort:  

You've been visited by @porters from Homesteaders Co-op.
Lovely to have an abundance of lovage seeds! I'm not sure if you are aware of the gifting or bartering economy we have going on at the Homesteaders Coop - perfect when you have an abundance of seeds or other garden goods! --- Homesteaders Co-op A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you for the info. I was having trouble signing up yesterday, but I'm on there now.

Welcome to Steemit and such an interesting post I was not aware of Lovage

Neither was I till a few years ago and it's so amazing to be able to share!

Now I know about them through your post ;)

Congratulations @haileevalley! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33