You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A look at our canning so far this year and todays harvest.

in #gardening7 years ago

Awesome! I thought I saw some Brandywines in there. And actually it's my first year with Mortgage Lifter, love the pinkish color of those. We have gotten quite a bit of rain lately as well. Our splitting, thankfully, is mainly a handful of verities - Money Maker (small 4-8oz), Pineapple (very large) were the big splitters for us. I have a few varieties that held surprisingly well so far.

And yes, we sure are swimming in tomatoes 😋. Need to take notes from ya and start canning! Thanks for your time and looking forward to a happy harvest for us both! 🍅

Sort:  

Thanks for checking out my post. I am following along with your grow money in your yard series. I have thought about doing it for a while but life always gets in the way. I'm looking forward to learning from you.

You can do it! I understand the 'life getting in the way' struggle..LOL It is usually two 'lives' aka toddlers in my way. Toddlers are little garden-grim-reapers 😆
You seem to have a pretty good handle on growing, those veggies look excellent. Why not make some extra money, right? You can start very small and you've already got the garden. I'm hoping to share a ton of information in the series that will help micro scale to acre+ operations. The legal hurdles are a drag, but the next part of the series will be much more fun! Thank You for following along. I will try not to disappoint!

I hear you on the grim reapers! My youngest toddler (14 months) keeps picking the tiny green tomatoes while I'm working in the garden...grrrrrr. She sees the bigger girls getting to pick the beans and cucumbers and doesn't wait for me to tell her what to pick before she's off to harvest whatever she finds. Yikes.

I planted a patch of cherry tomato plants and let them go wild - the kids think they aren't supposed to pick them, so they do...a lot.😂 Little do they know it's a decoy! It can be havoc in the garden, so 'sacrificial planting' is a smart move..haha. It's fun though, isn't it @lturner38 ? Seeing them thrive and learn how our labor generates the food we eat is something beautiful. Worth all the cleanup and repair that our little demolition experts create.😎

It's definitely fun to have them working with me, but I have to admit the picking of the baby tomatoes is definitely exasperating. I had a grape tomato that succumbed to early blight so my "kid planting" failed on me for once. Now I have the littlest one occupied by carrying cucumbers for me a lot (just have to recognize she will occasionally take a bite out of one).

Haha I know it's a challenge @lturner! Their curiousity takes over! My 2 year old daughter LOVES peppers. We picked a bunch and brought them in - green bell peppers, banana peppers, cubanelles - by the time I unloaded and turned around she had eaten a whole entire half of a giant bell! Seeds were littered across a blanket in the living room.😆😂 I had to laugh and remind myself how lucky I am that she willingly eats veggies..haha they sure keep things exciting!

Oh goodness - that is pretty funny! At least mine who's picking the green tomatoes actually eats them, unlike the squirrels who like to steal fruit, take a bite, and leave it lying on the ground.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48