Gardens on May 21 - 22, 2018

in #gardening6 years ago

Big garden - 3-4 done crop May 2018.jpg
Big garden ¾ finished May 22, 2018

I’ve put a lot of time in the Big garden and it is done until the end of the month.

Big garden - north end cleared crop May 2018.jpg

Monday I got this block cleared off so I could amend and plant. It needed:

Cabbages
Swiss chard
Carrots

It also had a row for parsley and for basil. Those 2 rows are prepped and mulched, I just need to stick the plants in when it is time.

Big garden - potatoes up crop May 2018.jpg

The potatoes are well up, so now I could mulch them. That was done on Tuesday morning. Planting in straight rows is REALLY crucial if you are mulching as I do.

Big garden - potatoes mulched crop May 2018.jpg

My helper planted these and would not use strings or tape measures. The plants ranged from 6 – 12” apart, when they were all supposed to be 12” apart. This made for very hard to do mulching. It took me 2 hours to mulch this bed.

There was one last row at the back of the garden for sunflowers. I’d used the area to hold mulch. Once it had been moved off onto the potatoes, I prepped it and mulched it from the pile in the driveway. Another one I just put the plants in when it is time.

All that’s left in this garden is the southeast corner where peppers and tomatoes and lima beans will go. I may or may not prep it before their planting time.

Roundtop no starts crop May 2018.jpg
Empty roundtop window

Squash starts crop May 2018.jpg
Squash seedlings

Tomato starts crop May 2018.jpg
Tomato seedlings

On Monday I took as many plants out to the cold frame as I could. Most of what’s left in the house, all in the lower 2 shelves of the East window, are tomatoes, peppers, and things like squash and cucumbers.

Tuesday my husband and I took down the shelving that was not in use and brought it down to the cellar for storage. He brought the 2nd dehydrator and its table back up. I need to get those 2 running.

Big garden - rhubarb crop May 2018.jpg
Rhubarb

Big garden - garlic2 crop May 2018.jpg
Garlic

Big garden - comfrey flowering crop May 2018.jpg
Comfrey flowering

Around the flower gardens:

Buttercups crop  May 2018.jpg
Buttercups are flowering

East - bleeding heart crop May 2018.jpg
East garden – bleeding hearts

East - white iris crop May 2018.jpg
East garden – one of two white iris open

Tuesday morning we were looking out at the gardens through the dining room window when a rabbit comes tearing through the yard. Right behind it is a big coyote.

Our geriatric cat was outside so my husband went out to find her. She was down on the woodpile looking for rabbits, totally oblivious to the coyote. Certainly didn’t see it and definitely couldn’t hear it. So she escaped being a coyote snack yet again. At age 17 I hate to think how many sets of 9 lives she’s run through….

Wednesday I plan to spend the whole day in the flowerbeds. Vegetable gardens are WORK, and flowerbeds are play! I’ve earned play time!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-23T09:16:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 136.50/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I'm envious of your garden. I've still got so much work to do to get mine under control. With all the rain lately, the weeds are quickly taking over. I'm hoping to get the mower in there today if the rain will hold off.

Love the white iris. Irises are my favorite flower. I plan on filling my flower garden with different types and colors.

My 7th Fence garden is dedicated to iris. I don't have a lot of different kinds. Maybe at some point I will make a post on them.

Looking good!
I love those bleeding heart flowers!

That is quite a bit you have going on @goldenoakfarm! We haven't tried it before, but garlic is definitely on the list for us to get planted this fall.

This post has been featured in the @offgrid-online Weekly Curation. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience with gardening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88