Big Garden’s Plan 2018

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Big garden - garlic, carrots, kale, horehound crop June 2017.jpg
Garlic in the 2017 garden, farm stand back left

This post is about the Big vegetable garden for this year. I will be doing posts on the Small vegetable garden https://steemit.com/gardening/@goldenoakfarm/small-garden-s-plan-2018 and the New Herb garden later on. These gardens provide enough food for our family of 3 for a whole year. There’s also enough extra to sell some on our little farm stand.

Big garden 2018.jpg

I make the plan on the GrowVeg program as it keeps track of where each plant family has been for the last 3 years. It gives a warning if you try to put something in that area. For a clearer picture go to:
https://www.growveg.com/garden-plans/871155/

I then transfer it to graph paper, as that survives best when taken to the garden for planting.

East side trees1 crop Nov. 2012.jpg
Tree row on West side of the Big garden

This garden measures 60’ North-South and 42.5’ feet East-West. It is oriented due North-South. It gets full sun from morning until mid afternoon. There are trees along its west side that shade part of it in the afternoon.

Big Garden - soil crop April 2018.jpg

The soil is sandy river bottom loam. It is tested each November when everything has stopped growing. I put the custom amendment mix down as I plant as the entire garden is kept mulched.

Big garden - nasturtiums crop Sept. 2017.jpg
Volunteer nasturtiums

I plan to plant many different flowers in the garden, some edible and some just to attract pollinators. I also get a good number of volunteers from previous years. If they aren’t going to be in the way of what is planned, they are left to grow.

Big Garden - garlic2 crop April 2018.jpg
Big garden yesterday, garlic up in the center

I plant rows both East-West (most everything else) and North-South (alliums). I also use beds: mesclun, potatoes. I give each variety maximum spacing so they can reach their maximum potential. This applies to spacing from plant to plant and also to rows distance apart.

New Herb garden - 7th bed part planted crop April 2018.jpg
New Herb garden #7 row with Big Garden’s herbs

This year I’ve reduced the number of perennials to just comfrey and rhubarb. There was an herb row where the New Zealand spinach, cabbage, and squashes are. That got transplanted into the New Herb garden on Friday.

A lot of what’s grown is for the chickens and pigs: comfrey, Swiss chard, kale, and mesclun. The last 3 are also for us and for sale.

Nothing planted yet, as I am still working on the trench for the new fencing. I’m over half done, and hope to finish by the end of next week so I can start planting and working on the other garden.

Sort:  

Ok, I love the image of planning your garden. I have bookmarked the website and may sit down tonight and finalize my garden plans for this year.

When I see things in black and white, plotted and planned out, it keeps me on task.

Chickens and pigs eat comfrey? I never knew that. What nutritional benefits are in it for them?

Chickens do, pigs aren't crazy about it. It has a high protein/calcium profile. It's a dynamic accumulator also. Just can't feed a lot at a time as it can be toxic.

Congratulations! You are doing a great job! Planning is very good and rotation is a must! We do the same. Our garden is smaller, we don't have a plan but my father knows exactly what and where, so he's never planting anything on the same place. Good luck with your project!

Even though I have a plan for each year, inevitably I planted something where that family had been planted before. I just couldn't keep it straight. his planner has been such a big help!

There is no wonder your gardens are so amazing. I am in awe of all the organization and work you put it. I can't wait to see this years. You give me goals for sure.

Totally awesome garden!!! Do you do it all by yourself?

No, I have a friend that helps a few hours a week too. If there's heavy stuff, like moving truckloads of hay mulch, I press my husband into service. But he will be the first to tell you, he "doesn't do gardens". But mostly I do it myself.

I am in awe!!! You must be part Wonder Woman!! My husband doesn't do gardens either. He's a systems engineer. They don't like outside work. He'll carry something for me if it's really heavy and I beg him. {I'm exaggerating a bit, :). } I've occasionally hired a college student who lives a few houses away, but that can get expensive! After Wonder Woman, you are my new hero! Your farm is big! Who does the housework, etc?

Who does housework during the season??? LOL I spend all winter "spring" cleaning the house, then it gets abandoned until November. It's to rain tomorrow and Friday, and my friend who helps me is coming both days. We will tackle my office, the last room needing cleaned. If it doesn't get finished, then oh well. Maybe next winter...

But I'm not Wonder Woman, by a long stretch. What you won't see or hear much about is all the time spent recovering in bed or on the couch...

That is some very nice looking soil! It looks like you know what you're doing.

Well, I sort of cheated. I started with the 7th best soil in the world in 1983.... (per National Geographic survey)

But seriously, I have dedicated a lot of time and money to making it the most nutrient dense soil I can. What I grow in it is used for treatment for my chronic Lyme disease, so it needs to be the very best.

Wow. I am farming a rock mountainside that was deforested and eroded out a long time ago. Very envious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57