Gratefulvibes challenge: Gardening Helps Me Reduce StresssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

What is the #gratefulvibes community challenge you ask? Well, here you go...

Quoting founder and creator of the challenge @paradise-found, this is the reason for the challenge, "Including today there are 70 days remaining in 2017. Join me in being grateful for one thing each day for the rest of this year. This intentional exercise will positively impact our lives, our happiness, and our success. And when the Steemit community rises to this challenge, we can impact the globe with “Gratefulvibes!!"


Today I want to share my new love for gardening and how it came about.

I suffer from abdominal issues (massive hiatal hernia surgery, stomach displacement surgery, GERD and a variety of other stomach ailments) as well as Meniere's Disease (effects my balance, energy level, hearing loss, vertigo and more).

Every doctor I saw told me to slow down, relax and learn some stress reliever techniques to keep my health in check.
So, for once, I took all my doctors' advice and started slowing down, tried to not sweat the small stuff in life and to learn a new hobby.

Well, that hobby is gardening.

20170824_164005.jpg

border.png

I started gardening years ago when I lived on five-acres of rural land, but I never had enough time to devote to it because I was working two, and at times three, jobs. So my garden attempts always went wayside.

But now, I am a SAHWife and have much more time to devote to gardening, preserving and tending to my plants and herbs.

20170807_072722.jpg

I started with a few tomato plants... then the next year added pepper plants... then corn, sunflowers and on and on. Until I purchased a portable greenhouse last year as a way to store my seedlings outdoors until they were ready to go in the ground.
But the greenhouse soon turned into herb central.
I have over three dozen herbs growing now in my front "flower" bed; with plans to add another 12-20 herbs next season.


I find myself working in the greenhouse, in the flower/herb bed and main garden for hours a day and found such solace and relaxation doing this.

I trim... I prune... I propagate.. I am happy.

My stress level has become almost nil, I have a wondrous harvest every few days whether it be herbs, tomatoes, peppers or whatever is ready to be picked that day.

I haven't had a major Meniere's episode in month (minor ones but livable) and I have cut back on taking prescribed medications due to the gardening; and the herbal teas I have been drinking. I concoct herbal blends with anti-anxiety and abdominal relief properties. So far, so good.

So today I am grateful for finding gardening and all the relaxation it brings to my life.

border.png

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Thank you!!!
Tip

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 59.0% @roomservice upgoat, thanks to @paradise-found
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Sorry to hear about your health issues but they spurred you to be a great gardener. Always amazed at your garden photos.

Thank you, on both accounts.
Gardening has really helped ease stress away.

This is an awesome post!! Resteeming!!
I'm so very happy for you finding gardening!!
Check your wallet as well!!

OMGoodness! thank you!!!

You are truly a steemit angel!!!
Blessings to you!

Excellent post, Dawne.

I find that activities such as digging, planting, raking, pruning, weeding, and harvesting provide a physical outlet for the tension stored up in my body.

There's nothing like growing vegetables and fruits in my garden to relieve stress.

I also find that exposure to sunlight while in the gardening process is extremely beneficial, as it increase serotonin in the brain. This keeps the brain balanced and us feeling good. And this is also beneficial for good sleep as well, since the sun increases melatonin, which is the chemical in our brains responsible for inducing sleep.

Cheers.

Whoa, you seem to know your stuff - following!

Thanks very much. Following you as well. Cheers.

Yes so true! Getting out in the sunlight is so beneficial; physically and spirituality

Yes, indeed. Awakening to this knowledge is part of our awakening to our true self.

Nice to meet you through the #gratefulvibes challenge. gardening is one of stress relievers too, so I'm with you! Your post deserves a tip!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 72.0% @abulabubu upgoat, thanks to @paradise-found
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @goldendawne to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hey,

Please Follow me.

for trending topics

I am so happy that you found gardening as a way to relax and that is helping with your health. I love gardening and do container gardening on the patio of my apartment. And I am grateful my preschool class has taken on my love of gardening in containers at the preschool I work at.

Next year I'm planning on doing more containers in the garden.
Luckily you have school for yours too.

nice
pls follow me & my post comment @anisullah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62884.65
ETH 2444.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61