Blooms & Blossoms From Around The Golden D Homestead On Morning Walk-Around

in #gardening6 years ago

Blooms & Blossoms From Around the Homestead


This morning I was up and outside SUPER early as we are expecting temperatures near 100-degrees later. Just after 6AM when I ventured out to check the garden, greens' barrels and greenhouses, it was already in the low 80's and humid as humid could be.

So while I watered the plants and made sure the greenhouses were open for air to flow through, I snapped a few pictures of some of the blooms and blossoms that have been occurring over the last few days thanks to the summer heat and higher humidity levels in my state.

Image of a flower blooming over the weekend of the wild lettuce I planted. Which means I am one step closer to being able to harvest the gel or silicone like juice from the leaves and stem of the plant. This latex; which is what it is called, can be used to make an extract for pain and as an anti-flammatory. I have been researching wild lettuce benefits for use as a pain-reducer (in comparison to using prescription pain/opioids) and am real curious as to the results of usage.

The same wild lettuce flower prior to the sun rise this morning.
Once the flower(s) die off, they will look like a dandelion or marigold flower with the white tuff or fiber looking seeds. I will be harvesting the seeds to sell online for next season; as I have two plants that are in full bloom right now and each plant has a minimum of two dozen flowers. Each flower will have around two dozen of the seeds. So I am planning on planting a few more plants on the homestead then selling the remaining ones to people who are looking for a way to stop using opioids.

There are a few ways to prepare the leaves and the stems' latex for use; which I will be doing a post in the near future of these processes.


HUNG PEPPER use.png

Hungarian Pepper plants are starting to flower an blossom; which will produce some GREAT peppers for all my spicy culinary meals, for making pickled peppers and more


ATTER USE.png

Potato flower


SNAP DR USE.png

Snapdragon flower blooming


LAVNDER USE.png

Lavender is starting to BLOOM! I will be transplanting into the herb and flower garden later this week.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

signature.gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

@goldendawne Do you grow lavender as a decorative flower or use it in something?

I grow it for both the beauty of the flower and for medicinal/homemade beauty items

Thank you for sharing different kind of flowers.. really great to see these post .. fresh and lively flowers..

So cool seeing what's doing at your place. I just came in from taking photos of the new flowers around here.

Been real hot and humid here too!

And I'm waiting to see how the wild lettuce does for pain,,,

Me too. I'm anxious for the flowers to start dying off so I can harvest the sap/latex to make the wild lettuce mixture and concoction. I will be posting when I make it and let you know how it goes

Nice walk in the garden, @goldendawne! We start our days early too to beat the heat. After about 10 am it gets really hot and afternoons are more humid before the rains start in the early evening.

Today is MUCH better weather wise. A cold front went through last night bringing some rain and cooler temps. I think it's going to be ONLY 84-degrees today! lol

howdy @goldendawne hey 100 degrees up there?
wow it's only going to 91 here in TX. yeah get up and out early is the key, if you can. great photos but you already know that!

yeah it was miserable yesterday. I went outside to get the BBQ going for dinner (no way was I turning on the stove last night) and the thermometer said it was 97-degrees but the weather app was reporting it felt like 103...whew!

lol! and ya'll aren't used to that kind of heat up there are you? I forget what state you're at even but it's somewhere North..well everything is North of us here duh! You're in Iowa or Michigan?
but anyway using the BBQ in 97 degree heat doesn't sound like fun but I bet it sure was worth it,
that sounds good! summers are short there so enjoy it while it lasts. God bless you guys!

Yeah Michigan but we are used to the heat and humidity.. last year we had more than 20 days of temperatures over 90-degrees but these extra hots days don't usually arrive until August- you know, the dog days of summer

oh that's interesting because I figured that being that far North your August's would be starting to cool off. well you guys are tough, you can handle it!

Thanks for showing us all of the blooms and blossoms. Great reminder that life is around every corner.

Absolutely! And being out in the garden, the herb/flower garden or greenhouses really helps me center my life... so peaceful and full of life

I had no idea that wild lettuce was good for pain/inflammation; great to know! And that Hungarian pepper flower is so pretty! Love it! Thanks for sharing this slice of your life with #steemitbloggers 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66