Sunflowers: A Plant That Brings Joy To Many Species

in #gardening7 years ago

A Petal Pondering

One plant that you can find in my garden in large quantities every year is the ever-gorgeous sunflower. Not only does its appearance bring me a lot of visual joy, but every critter on the farm over the years has benefited from my fondness for cultivating the flower. With an ice storm of impending doom upon us and a trying day behind me of cultivating the minds of both young and old alike; I thought I would reflect on some of my favorite sunflower-tinged moments.

Goats

We might have been known to wander around the farm with sunflower seeds in our pockets. This wasn't a snack for us, rather our goat herd benefited from our full pockets of seed. During the winter I would take sunflower seed heads out of our cellar and give them to the milk does, it did wonders for their coats and their milk production.


Cornish Cross Broilers, AKA: The Piranhas

For quite a few years we raised pastured poultry in chicken tractors. As anyone who raised these birds knows, they are absolute eating machines. One time I left my grandfather in charge of a batch for a weekend. He fed twenty-five birds 110lbs of food in forty-eight hours. "They acted hungry." was his reply when I asked him where the food had gone. I fed the piranhas a lot of sunflower seeds.

Rabbits and Turkeys

These lucky fellows always get a little bit of seeds on top of their daily ration, spoiled our animals are!


And finally, just a few pictures of sunflowers that I have grown over the years, because spring is coming!

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken by the author on her broken and decrepit old digital camera or her sunflower-chaff covered iPhone.

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Hello @generikat,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.85 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Beautiful sunflowers and cute animals!

Your kind words are appreciated, and I am happy to have captured their cuteness, for they have other less cute moments!:)

Yeah! I absolutely agree with you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41