It Finally Stopped Raining!

in #gardening7 years ago

A Quick, Fast, and In A Hurry Transplanting Of My Mother's Day Botanical Bounty!

IMG_5991.JPG
Roses at twilight. Not an upcoming romance novel folks, just a picture.

We have had a wet fall, winter, and spring. That is probably an understatement. It has rained so much in the last seven months that I have started wondering if I might possibly develop gills. I suppose my fish-like mutational augmentation would make me cool, or at the very least I would feel right at home in a Kevin Costner movie. Adaptation dreams aside, it truly has put down the liquid in my neck of the woods, and it has put me way behind on my yearly farm upkeep.

IMG_5978.JPG
Ahhh! The landscaping unkemptness! IT BURNS!!!!

For instance: My house is handicap accessible and in front of the ramp that leads to the front door I have a nice little flower bed that adorns the ramp's rails. By this time on the calendar I usually have the yard neatly mowed and the flower bed weeded and fertilized. We haven't been able to do anything around the house in the area of yard work and maintenance. It shows.

IMG_5988.JPG

Something that really has been bothering this Kat has been sitting on my front porch since Mother's Day. My family got me a rose bush the size of a small Volkswagon, and my mom got me a lovely hydrangea. The two plants mocked me daily from the confines of their nursery pots as they languished on the concrete pad outside my front door. If it had just been a series of intermittent showers I would have plopped them into the soil without hesitation. This week's forecast was akin to God emptying his swimming pool. My soil is so wet that it resembles the dregs of Starbuck's espresso machines, or the floor of a dairy's milking parlor. With each soggy day that passed my not-getting-my-plants in the dratted ground frustration was multiplying. EXPONENTIALLY!!!

IMG_5993.JPG

Imagine my happiness when yesterday the heavens ceased their weeping and I was able to go outside without looking like a championship winning college football coach post sports drink dousing! I quickly weeded the front bed and plopped the rose and hydrangea into their new patch o' soil. My spirits have been lifted like the average depth of our water table! Oh great and mighty joy of temporary dryness.

IMG_5985.JPG
Quality pawtrol is always on my back. Both figuratively and literally unfortunately.

The pause in perpetual wettness was short lived, as I stood in a pretty heavy liquid puking this morning as I watched my boy play soccer. As I type this the sky has ceased its leaking once again, and I feel a modicum of hope that perhaps tomorrow will bring a day without rain. There are beets to plant, tomatoes to transplant, and landscape fabric to install. I'd also kind of like to mow my grass as it is knee high at the moment. I mean, the horses can only eat so much. Don't get me wrong, a couple of years ago we almost burnt up from drought, so the moisture is much loved, but I would really, really appreciate a couple day pause. Pretty please.

IMG_5989.JPG

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's raindrop glistening iPhone.

Sort:  

Which was more satisfactory? Planting the flowers, or using your Angel of Doom to stomp everyone else playing Magic?

They both were satisfactory in opposite ways. Nurturing plant life and stomping it out of ya'll at the kitchen table made me achieve a total Yin and Yang-like state. Great night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41