Homesteading Fails

in #gardening8 years ago

The Worm Bucket


Source

A couple of years ago my little girl went through a phase where she wanted to earn as much money as she could by working for our neighbor. Our neighbor was going through a "purge the clutter" phase, so naturally many artifacts found their way into our home and storage sheds as the cleaning-for-work phase progressed. One such artifact was the worm bucket.

Our neighbor would periodically try new homesteading things, and vermiculture was one of those trials.

Vermiculture: the cultivation of annelid worms (as earthworms or bloodworms) especially for use as bait or in composting

I walked into my kitchen one day, and noticed that there was a gigantic plastic cat litter bucket under my sink. As our house is handicap accessible, the underside of my kitchen sink is wide open for all to behold. It looked super sexy with a giant Tidy Cats kitty litter bucket underneath my sink. That yellow really coordinated well with my curtains.

"What is in that bucket, Izzy?" I asked my daughter.

"That bucket is my worm farm!" She squeaked.

Oh Lord, I thought to myself. I've had every creature from pig to goat in my house at one time or another. At least the worms were in a bucket, so that should contain the mess, unlike the house rabbit experiment.

She went on, "I just have to feed them kitchen scraps and they will grow and multiply. You can use the worm casings for compost and I can sell the extra worms to other people!"

How could I crush such entrepreneurial excitement?

"Well, they are your responsibility." I replied drolly.

For the first few weeks everything progressed quite nicely in worm land. Izzy faithfully fed and kept her worms habitat moist. Even I had to admit that the bucket of red wrigglers didn't stink, and I eventually forgot that they were even hanging out in the house.

A few months went by, and I asked Izzy one day, "How are your worms, are you ready to remove some now?"

The child took on a pale cast to her features.

"I forgot to feed my worms." she wailed in despair.

"Don't!" I shouted, but it was too late.

To describe the foul smell that emanated from the neglected worm habitat would take more prowess in the adjective department than I currently possess, at least at this point in time after dealing with a drunken patron, an abandoned child, and driving some children through a blizzard this evening. Let's suffice to say that worm farms, while low maintenance, do require some continued care lest they dissolve into a bucket of nose-killing horror in the smell department. The resultant slime complete with a cherry on top in the form of a molded piece of bread was tossed unceremoniously on top of the compost pile in the barn yard.

I kind of miss that neon yellow cat litter bucket.

A few notes on vermiculture:

Red Worms (Eisenia fetida) are the species of choice for recycling food waste.

They are really easy to care for, their only requirements are: a dark habitat, food, moisture, and oxygen.

A pound of worms (about 1,000) will eat two pounds of food a day!

In the end, Izzy was pretty devastated that she killed her worms out of sheer neglect. I think the whole project was a good lesson in both humility and responsibility, and we haven't ventured into the realm of vermicomposting again, with the exception of the thousands of the creatures that inhabit my gigantic barnyard compost piles.


worm compost and tea can help you grow corn and squash like this.....no comment on the child "growth"

Links to explore regarding vermiculture and vermicompost:

vermicompost wiki
How to build your own vermiculture bin!
wormpoop.com-A good overview, and they discuss worm tea,but honestly I just like the name of the site.

There are also A LOT of Youtube videos on the subject!

And as always, the image in this post, with the exception of the one cited, was taken on my worm fecal matter covered iPhone.

Sort:  

Hello @generikat,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Twas a rough reckoning. She loved those worms....

Raising worms is a great experience! Ive learned so much about what they like and how to deal with harvesting the castings. Ive had my worms for 2 years now and they are great at disposing of produce waste and make an awesome fertilizer. There has been times when I neglected them but they have always managed to come back stronger.

They really are resilient creatures! I can't wait to read a post that you write about worms; I have a feeling that you have stories and expertise to offer to us all:o)!! Thank you for the comment, they are always much appreciated!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What a lovely, entertaining story and a delightful photo...

"Children of the Corn?" 😄😇😄

@creatr

Ah yes, there might have been a reference or two made regarding that flick... 😉

It's amazing how much worms can eat! I have so many worms in my slow-compost bins, I could call them vermiculture bins, lol. Happy plant growing, worm growing, and child growing! ; )

I feel that worms and children are spirit animals, seriously the amount of food that that both can put away is impressive! lol! I think that having your compost be a little less than slow is excellent, and I am sure that your plants like that fact too! Hope you are having a lovely evening HH!

I had a nice evening, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45