An Ode To My Weed Eater On Wheels

in #gardening7 years ago

Cheerful Musings Regarding One Of My Favorite Machines

IMG_6082.JPG

I am below average height, a fact that doesn't bother me too much. In fact, I am a good sport about my diminutive stature and play along with all of the short jokes hurled down upon me from above. There are some things about being vertically challenged that I find truly taxing, and weed eating used to be be one of them.

A standard weedeater probably works just fine for someone 5'4" or taller, but for us stature-lacking folks it presents an ergonomic issue. I would have to hold the weed eater aloft, about shoulder high and then swing it in a weed-whacking swath of unwanted foliage massacring doom. Don't get me wrong, I like a good muscle scream inducing workout, but running a weed eater in that particular manner was more Spanish Inquisition than Beachbody workout.

One day I was wandering through our local military base exchange when I saw it: the weed eater on wheels. I quickly bought the yellow and black machine, my little bumble bee of plant masticating doom, and was soon happily wreaking chlorophyll-tinged destruction.

IMG_6078.JPG
A smile born out of pure weed-slain joy

We have a noxious weed that has really done the "shock and awe" treatment on our local eco-system: Spotted Knapweed. If you can keep it from blooming it helps to thwart its spread. My little weed eater on wheels annihilates knapweed like a knife through buttah! I've been known to spend hours rolling around my twenty acres of shrubbery slicing through unwanted foliage all while wearing my Bluetooth headphones and singing at the top of my non-shoulder burning lungs.

Whomever created this marvelous bit of weed slaying-engineering, I salute you. It is because of this machine's existence that at the end of a many hour battle, covered in plant offal, that I look out upon my neat and tidy kingdom in contented and weed destroyed happiness. Mighty mowing machine, you are the reason that my gratitude fully shines just like the leaves of my rhubarb plant, for it is because of you, little weedeater, that the pie plant of tanginess can stretch its leafy form fully and un-encumbered toward the sun.

IMG_6062.JPG
The rhubarb can now spread its non-weed crowded leaves!

A semi-unrelated side note of clarification: I was challenged to a rather diverting scrimmage volleyball game by my sixth grade team tonight. I might have played like I was a sixth grader, and that bit of exertion after a long day might have made me feel a bit exhausted and giddy. So, depending on how you felt about the above blog post I give you a heartily offered "Your Welcome" or a "My apologies." I present them both with equal and heartfelt sincerity. Night all!!

IMG_6083.JPG
The final twilight sets upon many of the overgrown bits of foliage in this scene, may they rest in pieces in the morn...

And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's weed gut covered iPhone.

Sort:  

You crack more short-person jokes than anyone else. Don't play the victim card.

When you are short you are a perpetual victim, for nothing is beneath you......😉

Well, if that's how you want to play...

Nah. I won't make any jokes. I'm afraid they'd go right over your head anyway.

To which I reply with a quote:

Nothing goes over my head! My reflexes are too fast. I would catch it.

Drax the Destroyer

ah, brava! Have a nice day!

Thank you! I hope your day is splendid as well!!😊

I feel a 'your welcome' is in order, no matter the extent of 6th grade gk battery runnout. Great post, about your new 'vunderveeder'. Have one of those things, but the clutch is shot, as it slips all the time. Weeds are too tough. But when those things work, LOOK OUT weeds. So glad you can mince that nasty Knappweed.
Love the John Deere hat and shades, a truer lawnmeister I doubt there is in the entire Gem State. Well, I'll keep this short, my bicycle is calling me out for a ride. Have a most wondrous night. Thanks for the fun post.
PS. Is that tall structure behind the mondo rhubarb a greenhouse, or cool playhouse for lucky kids?

Vunderveeder! HA! I love it!

My attire is a constant source of joke fodder, as the shirt was my Grandpa's, the hat I bought for thousands of dollars and they threw a tractor in as a bonus gift, and the shades I found on the beach in Mexico, probably a cruise ship casualty of a rail overhanging tourista. It's amazing how an outfit can come together!

The structure behind the Volkswagen sized rhubarb is a greenhouse, we tore down an old house and used the windows for a not so pretty but functional greenhouse. This year I plan on putting a pretty agricultural grade poly roof on the old patchwork cow, but who knows when that will get done?

This lawnmeisteriss hopes that you had a marvelous evening bike ride! My volleyball team annihilated their competition tonight at their last game, and on that note I am going to go crash into a blissful sleep...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85