Got a GARDENING question? Just ask!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7642.JPG

So lucky to be able to play hookie from gardening and to be hanging out on the eastern end of Long Island, NY. So beautiful and peaceful!

Even at the beach you can see the importance of landscape:

sand dunes (they stay stable when planted with dune grass

IMG_7641.JPG

rosa rogusa - I loove the smell - planted in huge swaths along with purple nepeta (aka catmint) I love the simplicity!

IMG_7651.JPG

wild old junipers!

IMG_7650.JPG

A walk on the beach . Sooo relaxing!

IMG_7646.JPG

lately I have been working overtime and it's been a week since I've posted, not that anyone has noticed, but I feel guilty somehow!

So, please!!! In the comments, ask me anything! As long as it relates to trees, shrubs or perennials or annuals, or garden design, I will try to answer!

as always, Happy Gardening!

@gardenlady

Sort:  

people be enjoying life and steemit, going on trips, beaches, etc. and I'm here trying not to give up in life :(

nice to see a steemit comrade have fun and enjoy life !! steem on!

I got lucky with this little trip. I think by just taking a break and walking through a park taking in fresh air and noticing your surroundings, can also be a great source of relaxation and inspiration. Don't ever give up!

eactly, thats one of the many things steemit has help me. thanks to steemit I'm always looking beauty to share where most people do not.. it has brought me confidance !!! follow you to see more of you !!

Everyone deserves a day off!

Thanks @svfarms!

Amazing photography

Not sure how amazing it is- everything taken with my iPhone!!! But thanks @ acehfood!

Yes I like your photo, Photo you took are beautiful

gardening can be fun if you have a flare for it. I like to see people enjoying and appreciating the little and bigger things in life. @gardenlady this post shows you do.
Thanks for the inspiration!

@gardenlady I just followed you

What is the best way to acquire fertile soil? I do not like to buy it, and due to current living conditions I am unable to create a compost.

Every fall when cutting the grass, I mow right over the fallen leaves and collect the grass/leaves clippings in the mowing bag. Then I spread right on top of my garden. It's a great source of nitrogen and since it's been mulched by the mower, it will break down more easily , thus amending the soil. Good luck!

Thank you so much. Usually I take those bags full of mulched clippings and throw them deep into the woods. I will have to try that this year! Thanks again

Another thing you can do is go "deep into the woods" where you've been throwing those clippings and take a little of the soil back. To be eco friendly, only take back about 25% of what you put out there though.That way you feed the forest.

wow, I never thought to do that! thanks @timeshiftarts and @gardenlady I have many pots to fill this weekend!

You're very welcome

You're welcome!

I don't do much gardening.
Anything you can to tell me to inspire me? haha
Great Photographs by the way

Growing your own vegetables is just as rewarding as Steemit! It feels great to make things for yourself! You should give it a try!

I think I might have a go.
What's the best way to get rid of weeds since I have so many over my plant beds.

Till the soil and turn it all over!

Good job

wow, lovely place you have there, you had a good time i guess :)

Nice capture, True nature. Thank you so much for posting those and keep updating cool stuff. Upvoted!

The pleasure is mine, i have followed you too, will look forward for more quality content. Thank you!

I wish I was on that beach right now!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83