From WINTER to SPRING! Gotta love a lilac!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

lilac close-up.jpg

What a difference ONE month makes!! Back in march, I posted a Winter Tree ID challenge. The photo was my lilac.

Below is my lilac TODAY with the winter photo below it. I tried to get a shot from about the same angle...looking closely you can see a fence in the distance for reference. Also, the two thicker branches on the left seem to be apparent in both.

lilacs in bloom.jpg

lilac in winter.jpg

https://steemit.com/gardening/@gardenlady/a-fun-lesson-tree-identification-in-winter

Tip of the Day: How to prune your lilac!

After the lilac blooms have faded, saw, yes SAW off the oldest branches at the very base of the shrub. I do this EVERY year. Some years I just have maybe one large one to cut off; some years I cut 2 or 3. But, by pruning in this fashion, new growth will be encouraged from the bottom, keeping the shrub full and beautiful year after year.

Happy Gardening! And enjoy the wonderful scent of lilacs by cutting some for inside! (Smash the woody stems before putting in water so they last a long time!!)

-gardenlady

Sort:  

Nice lilacs !

I like the smash tip!

Thank you for posting @gardenlady.

Lovely photographs and commentary. Steemit is all ears when it comes to gardening tips.

Lilacs are so wonderful for the Spring garden. I have 5 that are just beginning to bud out. I can hardly wait for the wonderful scents to permeate my yard @gardenlady

Mine seems to be blossoming out really early this year - like 10 days-2 weeks. usually it's the first week of May. Enjoy your lilacs :-)

Thank you I can hardly wait! It is still cold at night here in NY but the days are warm. We have our Lilac Festival here in Rochester, N.Y. in early May every year and people come to see them from around the world. It is a site to behold.

If you can, post a photo! Would love to see :-)

I have a lot of photos of the blossoms, I plan on going again this year, so will be posting. The park hosts a variety of lilacs, rhododendron, azaleas, awesome trees, pansy beds and so much more. It is beautiful to walk through!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49